the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002 - 11:50 p.m.

Birthdays are the most overrated things on the planet. Once you pass say, oh, 21, they begin that inevitable downward slide and just start sucking a little more each year until the day you die.

Isn't that happy?

My birthday was yesterday.

Guess how it went.

Go on, guess.

Yeah.

I spent lunch with my mother, rehashing as always the crappiness that was my childhood. I don't know what it is about my mother, whether she feels guilty she didn't save us sooner from the abusive monster that was my father, or if she just flat out doesn't think she was a good mother, or what, but every time we get together, she steers it into this degenerative crap about growing up in the Doyle household. Joy. Especially on one's birthday.

Then I went to dinner and a movie with the boyfriend, and that was really fun and nice....until later in the evening, when it degenerated over an issue highly personal and yet, unbelievably stupid, that basically undid all the warm happy of the rest of the day.

I would just as soon skip all subsequent birthdays, please.

There were two good points of the day:
1. I finally got my Mom's old Singer sewing machine, an antique that I learned to sew on in second grade and that I've been asking for for years, since Mom gave it to me a long time ago but somehow never got around to actually physically doing the giving.

2. I got to go see Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in the actual theatre, which was pretty cool, AND it was a better movie personally than the first. Much closer in spirit to the book, though I still think Snape needs to be a lot meaner. Lucius Malfoy was really well-cast and directed; very mean and nasty. And Dobby the House Elf was WAY less annoying than I thought he would be. In fact, he wasn't annoying at all. They did a good job with him. I think that kid who plays Draco is doomed forever. He's too good at sneering to ever be anything but Draco Malfoy. That Daniel kid who plays Harry though? Totally adorable. You could tell Richard Harris was sick; that was a total bummer, given that he's no longer with us. :(

# of Katie Doyle googlers the last 2 days or so: 3
# of yahoo searchers for Katie+is+dumb: 1
Most bizarre search: crack+colorlab - Yeah, I can see how the plain white would be so de classe...what is this, Less Than Zero?
Searcher most in need of spelling skills and a basic English lesson: dethpenalty
# of Victoria's Secret obsessed searchers: 2

Excellent Search of the Day:
snickers+great+googly, which turned up 165 results; someone at U of Mich has too much time on their hands, unless Candybars 101 has become a college credit class, in which case Sign Me Up. :)

Have a good day. Happy birthdays to you, one and all.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

"You bought me a grave-post for my 38th birthday?"




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1