the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Mar. 02, 2005 - 11:25 p.m.

My cool new job? The one I loved?

Hell.

That's right. Hell. H-E-double hockey sticks. 7734. Hades, Purgatory, Des Moines, HELL.

(Bygones on that Des Moines thing. It was just a joke.)

It's a long story, and I have to go to bed, but suffice to say I had one of the single most stressful days I have ever had at work in my entire life, and it doesn't look to be gettin' better. In fact, it looks to be getting noticeably worse. And short. Like, probably won't last past the end of March.

Oh, did I forget to mention that it's not permanent, that I'm on "probation"? Huh. That's probably because NO ONE MENTIONED IT TO ME. Yeah. I left a job making $20/hour that had possibilities for permanent employment in a place where my supervisor didn't spaz at me for one in which I have even less job security than I had at that one and with a supervisor who only speaks to me directly when it can not be avoided or she wants to scold me.

Oh, yes, my friends. I have never in my life been told I was not capable of a work task. Until today. Seems the learning curve at new work? Non-existent. Zero tolerance for mistakes. Nevermind that their system is completely unlike 99% of all post houses. Nevermind that it was my 3rd day on the job and my first attempt at the task at hand. And best of all, nevermind that the "instructions" given to me were actually more a set of vague hints than actual direction, despite my best efforts to dredge something slightly more instructiony out of the assistant who passed them to me, and then out of my actual supervisor.

Oh, and by the way? My pay? Caused a mini meltdown in the office today, as apparently, my supervisor - who is screwing my boss, according to the office grapevine - is making less money than I am starting out at. Only she didn't know that. Which is part of the long story. I can say that she completely freaked out over it and then rode my ass the rest of the day...after calling my boss on it and being placated with a bump in her own salary. I don't know what the hell they were thinking, hiring me at more than she makes, and I don't blame her for freaking out, but it is not MY fault. And I really didn't appreciate being told how stupid and incapable I am, along with a host of other things she said and that went down today.

I have a tension headache that's threatening to turn into a migraine, and I fucking DREAD going back in tomorrow. In fact, I would rather take a job at the pet food store. And I snagged the application tonight.

Pray for me, my peeps. Hard.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1