the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004 - 12:26 a.m.

Diaryland Quote of the Day:
"Of course you have no obligation to do anything I say, unless my leash is attached to your collar and you are forcibly dressed in my underwear, bleeding slightly from your busted lip, and your roommates have no idea where you are. In that case it would behoove you to follow my directions to the letter." --Mimi Smartypants

Did I ever mention I love the word "behoove"? I do. Mimi Smartypants is actually Muffy Tepperman in disguise.

Hello, cats and kittens -

I Pity the Fool
I kind of wonder if you have to actually hate the show you're recapping to write for TV W/O Pity. No one over there seems to actually like the shows they write about. Which I admit makes for a snarkier - and thus, more sarcastically witty - recap of the episode, but still, what fresh hell must that be, having to watch a show every single week that you hate, just to write a recap of it for the general viewing audience, most of whom probably hate the show too, or they wouldn't read your rather mean, sarcastic recap of it. I barely manage to keep up with the shows I like, let alone bothering to waste my time on something I don't. Then again, many of the people who tend to write for sites like that are already frustrated anyway, from a lack of their own kudos*** (please see ps. disclaimer), who figure they could do it better - or maybe just hate badly written hack jobs, which most stuff on tv kinda seems to be - and they sorta do like the shows they recap, it's just their natural inclination toward bile that makes it sound otherwise.

I'm just guessing. I actually work with someone who writes for TVWOP, and she seems a very nice, calm person and talented writer. She also has a weblog I read on occasion. She kind of intimidates the hell out of me, though, much like Mimi Smartypants without the warm fuzzies, before Baby Nora, whenever she would lose patience with people and whip out the "I'm so much smarter than you, how can you stand to live, you ignorant jackass" vibe. Not that she did that all that often, mind you, I've no wish to represent Ms. Smartypants as a bitch or harridan or any other unflattering person. She just sometimes gave me that feeling, because she's clearly a very intelligent person, who might in real life tend to be very intimidating by sheer force of her intelligence and lack of patience for idiocy. Which I myself share, but at a somewhat toned down pace in the workplace, because I work in reality television, and practically everyone in my office is full of rocket-building, life-saving enthusiasm for Television, and Reality Television in particular, which, in case you didn't know it, will be single-handedly responsible for saving the world from unilateral, bilateral, multilateral, or any other kind of lateral, world-destroying aggression; I'm just sayin'. But to get back to my original point, while I find this TVWOP writer an interesting, probably likable person, and while she is a longtime friend of the beloved Jonny C, I usually get the distinct impression that while she does not necessarily fundamentally object to my presence on this planet, she would generally prefer it not make itself known in her immediate totally hip vicinity. Plus, we don't like the same kind of movies at all. Apparently, I like the same kind of movies her mom likes, and she shakes her head woefully at Mom's lack of hip understanding of Cinema, so while I would love to sometimes hang out chatting pithily about this or that event, happening, book, movie, or episode of television, THAT, my friends, is never gonna happen.

Never. Gonna. Happen. Call me Television Without Pithy, and move on. ::sigh::

I kinda actually wish I were the type of person that other people read religiously, hanging on my every witty word, and talk about on the net or by the watercooler - the coolest kind of joes would read me - and wish that they could know me, because I'm just that cool. Then again, that kind of pith takes some sort of effort and the willingness to actually give thought and ::gulp:: editing-type polish to my entries, and frankly, people, that's just way too much work. I mean, I love allayall and the like, but please. If I can't toss it off the cuff and sound good, that's just too damn bad, because I am not willing to work at the pithy cool. I either am or I am not. Pithy. I can admire the Ms. Smartypants of the world all I like for their apparent ease, I'm just not willing to work at matching them.

Oh well. Maybe that's why I can never seem to finish a book. I do, on the other hand, have short stories gathering unsubmitted dust by the dozen. Or something like that. So, bite me.

Oops. That bite me was uncalled for. Bygones.

Peace out,
Katie

***ps. I don't mean to make it sound like the writers at TVWOP are untalented hacks. I do NOT mean that at all. Please do not send me hate mail because you read or write for TVWOP and think I am being dismissive. I am merely relating what I think the recaps sound like, not what I think they are. I in no way mean/wish to slander anyone over at TVWOP or to insinuate that they are bitter, untalented hacks. I admit to having no fondness for reviewers in general; however, clearly the writers over at TVWOP are doing something right, as they are one and all making money off of their writing efforts, and most of them are actually amusing, whether they hate the show they recap or not...shutting up now.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1