the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Mar. 15, 2005 - 10:46 p.m.

I am constantly amazed at the consistency with which people underestimate me. The guy at work who referred me for my job (whom I have known for 5 years), went off on me yesterday about how I need to spend a couple thousand dollars on a studio for making my jewelry if I want to be taken seriously and make a living at it. (This despite the fact he knows nothing about anything I make.) Then today at work, he's all "did you buy your kilns and torches yet?" And I'm like "not since last night, no." He then proceeds to lecture me on procrastination and art and how I need to spend money to make money, sparking off an entire inner monologue in my head that ran along the lines of hello, mr. realism, i have been driving a car around for the last 4 months with tape and a plastic bag for a window because i can't afford to repair it; what in god's name on this green planet makes you think i have a thousand dollars to plunk down on a set of fucking kilns, but I stayed quiet and let him rant...until he started telling me how I need to take pictures of my product and come up with a plan, etc. etc. etc. At that point, I had to put my foot down and say uh, yeah, excuse me, but I am already selling professionally and have my own dotcom, thank you. Which met with shocked silence for about 2.2 seconds, and then he demanded the url. Which I gave him, and he immediately typed into his browser. My page pops up, and he's all stunned amazement:

"This is YOU???"

Yes. That is, in fact, me. I am not a pie-in-the-sky, inactive dreamer. I have not spent the last 2 years reading business manual after business manual, subscribing to this or that, developing a web site, learning web design, studying jewelry and trends, taking photos and sitting for literally hundreds of hours in front of a computer screen editing them (not to mention all the lighting lessons I had to learn via trial and error before they came out right), and plunking down well over $7000 of my hard-earned cash for a hobby. Why people might think I have is beyond me. As are their righteous lectures on how I should run my life.

I am woman, people. If you don't get that yet, you are going to be in very sorry shape by the time I am done with you.

Hear me friggin' roar.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1