the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Oct. 11, 2005 - 3:42 p.m.

Two words of advice.

No, actually, one word of advice and the single most disgusting thing I have EVER seen in a kitchen. And that includes restaurant kitchens and dive bars, so you know I'm talking Disgusting, with a capital D. Make you retch disgusting. But first, the advice. Because that leads into the story.

You may think one day, as you are making dinner, or perhaps after, that it is okay to put raw salmon skin down the disposal.

Do not do this.

See, cooked salmon skin, that falls apart fairly easily. For all I know, you can put that down the disposal with no trouble at all. You can put raw chicken down the disposal, and even raw beef. You can even put chicken bones down the disposal. Unfortunately, I can now attest that raw salmon skin has the tensile strength of kevlar and should not, under any circumstances, be fed into a home disposal.

You grind and you grind and you grind, and for a long time, it seems nothing much happens. Then you think it's gone, so you chase it with some lemon juice and cleanser, and perhaps a little dishwasher detergent. It's all good. Then a day or so later, especially if it's hot where you live, the kitchen starts to smell like there is something rotten in the state of Denmark, and you are smackdab in the middle of the country. It will take 2 entire boxes of baking soda, gallons of water too numerous to count, a ton of bleach-containing cleanser (I recommend Ajax), more lemon juice, and more dishwasher liquid, before you finally chase the smell away.

So in short, do not put raw salmon skin down the disposal. Just don't, people. Learn from my pain.

Now, you may be wondering how I know this. Well, you see, I made bowtie pasta with salmon and broccoli a few days ago, on Friday. This was before I came down with the flu on Saturday. But as usual, when I make dinner, the housemate cleans it up. And I thought he had. He rinsed out the pan and the plates, etc. What he did not do, which I did not notice until today, was clean up the pasta remains. Those he left sitting in the collander, which was sitting inside the pasta pan, which was sitting on the stove, with a lid over it. Out of sight, out of mind, I guess. But I notice a bit of a smell, so despite still having a 100 degree fever, I think to myself, I will clean the kitchen and load the dishwasher, and I begin to do so. But first I ran the disposal, because I thought the smell was probably coming from there, what with the salmon and all. Then I start rinsing and loading, and I work my way to the pasta pan, lift up the lid, and find the hugest mass of mold spores I have ever seen in my entire life.

It's a mushroom cloud of mold, filling the collander, and smelling more than a little rankly moldy. And it's really too big to try to feed down the garbage disposal, so I empty it into the garbage.

And that's where it gets hurl-worthy.

Because people, mold feeds. And when mold feeds, it also produces waste. And that waste finds it's way to the bottom of whatever the mold is feeding on, in the form of a revoltingly viscous fluid with a string factor of about 20 on a scale of 1 to 10.

I am not ashamed to say I retched. Three times.

And then I hit everything with a thick layer of Ajax - because we are out of bleach - and walked away until my stomach settles, because frankly, GROSS. Just, gross. Too much to deal with, peeps.

So what have we learned today? Besides checking other people's work? Don't put raw salmon skin down the disposal, and toss the uneaten pasta out immediately. And if you don't, and there was very much left and it's been hot, baby, just throw the whole collander away. You'll be glad you did. Trust me.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1