the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Oct. 09, 2005 - 4:30 a.m.

All right, lookit. I'm not in the habit of writing record reviews, because frankly, I'm not a music critic. That, and I know what I like, but I could not in a million years pretend to know what others like or what makes a "good" song. If I like it, it's good. Your mileage may vary.

That being said, Harvey Danger has a new album out, and in their esteemed wisdom and coolness, they have released it 100% free on the internet, available for download at your heart's content.

You may remember Harvey Danger. The band had a hit way the hell back in '98, called Paranoia. It wasn't the greatest song in the world, despite having some cool lyrics. It was actually rather kitschy, and also contained some monumentally stupid lyrics. I used to continually get them mixed up with Bare Naked Ladies, who had at that time another song in play which I hate so much I refuse to call by name and instead refer to it as Chickety China, the Chinese Chicken. This is because most people have no clue what song you're referring to when you call it by name, but they ALL know exactly the song you mean when you refer to it as Chickety China.

But I digress. Both songs had equal degrees of stupidity inherent in them, even if only in spots. So while I had to applaud Harvey Danger for the lyric "My fingertips have memories, I can't forget the curves of your body," I reviled them equally for the lyric "They cut off my legs; now I'm an amputee, goddamn you," which will surely go down in the anals of music as one of the stupidest, most banal lyrics of all time.

Um, and that would be another digression. Sorry. The point is, I had pretty much written Harvey Danger off as a one hit wonder of kitsch.

And then came Little By Little and the wonder of the free album download. I figured you know, what the hell, it's free, I'll try it.

And now, I'm hooked.

Shrewd guys, that band. I can't tell you how much I like this album or how much I love the song "Happiness Writes White," which is exactly the song I would want my rock musician (ex)boyfriend to write about me, if he were not all broodingly "intense" instead. It's all catchy 60's innocence and sounds sort of like if Paul McCartney, First Class, and the Beach Boys had gotten together and cooked up a happy summer love song, and I would just about love the album on the basis of that song alone. I'd definitely shell out $12 for the cd, which is all it costs if you want to buy the physical cd from the band, which I am going to do just as soon as I have disposable income again. I want to support the band for doing what they've done. Plus, this is a solidly-crafted album. There's only one song on the whole thing I don't like, and that's because it's a little tedious. Doesn't change up enough. There are 2 others that I'm okay with but wouldn't put on a mix tape, and I like all the others. My favorites are the aforementioned Happiness Writes White, "Little Round Mirrors," which is beautiful and thoughtful, and for some reason, reminds me of Simon & Garfunkle's "Bridge Over Troubled Water", "Moral Centralia" and "Diminishing Returns". On the surface, "Wine, Women and Song" is kind of strident, but around halfway thru it, I start liking it. It's got a sort of Cabaret kind of subversive feel to it. I could totally see it in a modern musical.

The band has an explanation of why they're releasing the album free, and frankly, it makes me love them. I will shell out money for this when I have disposable income again, because I think they should be rewarded. Both for their vision in releasing this free and for the quality of the music. Harvey Danger has made a fan out of me, g-damn them! ;)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1