the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Mar. 07, 2003 - 2:43 a.m.

Woohoo! The design is IN. The homework is *done*. The coloring and the reading...weeeeeell, not so much. But the other stuff got done on time (with a few accidental omissions, but what the hell), and now it's time for a whole new round of pressure...I'm hoping it'll go okay, despite the field trip on Saturday, the funeral tomorrow, and God knows what else that will pop up unexpectedly just to throw a wrench into the whole damn thing. But for right now, I'm totally caught up, and that ROCKS. :)

Just one point I'd like to make, coz it's been a-buggin' me all day.

The word is nuclear, people.

NOOK - LEE - ER

Not nucular. It is not something which resembles or is like a nucule, whatever the glory freaking hell you think that is. It is based on the nucleus. Of, or having to do with atomic nuclei. Which is the plural of nucleus. So, more than one atomic nucleus. A whole boatload of nucleuses...nuclei. Tons and tons - megatons - of nuclei. NOT nucules. "Nuke" is short for nuclear bomb, NOT an object which a nuclear device is made out of. Strictly speaking. I suppose a case could be made, but you'd really have to be an idiot to make it, so let's move on.

I am also noticing that a great many of the sheep loudly, stridently, oppressively supporting the invasion and subsequent occupation of Iraq pronounce the word nuclear "nucular." I leave you to draw your own conclusions.

I really do. I'm not going to voice mine, though it's killing me struggling to make it from my brain down to my fingertips, across the keyboard and onto the screen.

Must. Fight. Urge.

Must. Fi--

REDNECK DUMBASSES.

Sorry. I tried. It was just too much. Scotty's had too much happiness or someone's stolen Spock's brain or something, I don't know; it just wouldn't stay quietly up in there.

Know what? When I finish school in June, I'm gettin' a puppy. You'll see what a nice difference that makes. Bet you'll like it. ;)

Um, okay...
So, today I went down to the Formerly Friendly Graphics Place to have 4 bond copies made, and I am totally bummed, because they now charge me for all my copies, and it's freaking expensive. :( They tell you a copy is $1.39, but that's not true, because you also have to pay a "set up" fee of $3.50, so one copy is really $4.89 plus tax. Which is over 5 bucks. And 4 of them are $9.52 or something like that. Very not happy. But that's not the story. The story is that while I was waiting for my copies to be made - by what had to be the slooooooowest copy person in the entire world, since two people who came in after me with more copies than I had both got theirs at the same time I got mine, and I was there over 15 minutes before they were - while I was waiting for my copies, this one woman came in and struck up a conversation with me about landscaping, and then looks at me and says she'll hook me up with a really good hair guy so he can "fix [my] hair."

Huh.

I have a hair guy.

A pretty good one. And he just cut my hair 3 weeks ago. Which, granted, has grown some, but that's the point of growing my hair out, and anyway, the only thing which warrants trimming so soon after a cut is my bangs. Which are only slightly long. They are not sheepdog long. I mean, I can see out from underneath them just fine. It's not like I'm going around peering thru them going "Ma? Is that you, Ma? The lights are growin' dim..." Seriously. They're just a tiny bit long and that only because I don't like them hitting my eyelashes when I open my eyes wide. And it's not the color, because she really raved about the color of my hair. So I really wanted to ask what, pray tell, do you think needs "fixing" about my hair? But I just kinda thanked her for pressing the guy's name and number on me and went about my merry way. And she seems a perfectly nice person, because she called later and asked if I needed a job for two months or so, subbing for her when she goes back home on vacation, since I'm a student and all, and it would be good experience working in a nice construction company right now, what with the design study and all. But wow. I really do not know how to react to someone who tells me my hair can be fixed when I thought it looked pretty good when I left the house a scant 5 minutes prior...

Anyway.

I'd better go to sleep now. I have to drive tomorrow. To surround myself with family, immediate, step, and otherwise. Which is a stretch on a good day, when I'm happy and have had plenty o' sleep. I can only imagine what tomorrow will be like. Have I mentioned my dad likes to quiz you? So he can make sure you've been paying attention. Yeah, he just suddenly stops and asks if you're listening, and then when you say yes, tells you to repeat it back to him and explain whatever process he has been describing for the last however many minutes it's been since the last quiz. Sometimes he also includes material which was in prior quizzes to make sure you haven't forgotten the information in those over the course of revelation of the new material. That's especially trying when the material in question is applied economics, quantum physics, or the history of the USSR and the rise and fall of communism, none of which are things I am particularly interested in. Though they are more interesting and only slightly more confusing than college football and who plays for what team, in what position, what draft number/choice they were, etc. I really hate college football. To the nth degree. But apparently, I was supposed to be a boy, because my dad really doesn't understand why I don't enjoy talking about it and so will continue to talk to me about it anyway, no matter how many times I tell him I really hate college football and do not watch it. I can remember he hates the Dallas Cowboys (that's a Christmas story I'll never forget); why can't he remember I hate college football? ::sigh::

katieee...kaaatie...

Hear that? That's my bed. Coming, bed.

Peace out,
Katie

ps. what does one take to a post-funeral family gathering when one did not attend the funeral?

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Football? Football, what's a football? Wake up stupid!




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1