the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2005 - 12:44 a.m.

I got an evite today for a Cinco de Mayo party, from people I don't even know. Wow. That's awful nice of 'em, but I don't think I'll be going. They invited 301 people (so far). I don't think they'll miss me.

I came across some pretty funny links today. Friday should be fun. Aside from that, I got nuthin'. I had a lot of errands to run, but nothing really got done, which is not good, because I have a lot of stuff to ship by Wednesday, and half of it needed to go out today, and now I'm working tomorrow, so it can't go then. I do not like being late, and that's all I seem to be, these days. I hate that.

I actually had something to write about, but darned now if I can remember what it was. Shoot.

I have another reason to hate the cat, though. Somehow Sunday morning, she managed to knock a knicknack off of its table and onto the concrete floor, thus breaking it, and it was my grandmother's. It's this arch of elephants marching across a span of wood, all holding each other's tails, and it's carved out of a single piece of ivory, from back before ivory was illegal to import, and she brought it back from safari in Kenya. The kind of safari where you shoot the animals with cameras, not guns. Which makes it all the more notable for being ivory, because my grandmother was very conscious of this kind of thing and against the poaching of elephants for their tusks. She thought it was resin, but closer investigation shows it to be made of ivory. Which is not so important as is the fact that it is broken, and the reason I have it is because my gramma collected elephants, and this piece was the focal point of the whole collection and the thing I remember most about it. I spent many a long time fascinated by it as a child, so when the elephant collection was dispersed among the family members, that's the piece I asked for. And the fucking cat broke it. Does anyone have the faintest idea how to repair ivory (assuming I can find the 2 pieces I have been unable to find as yet)?

I'm handling the whole thing rather well, considering I really want to beat the crap out of the cat, as a) she has no business being up on tables, and knows it; b) she has no business being where she was that she leapt down from onto the piece, thereby kicking it off of the table and breaking it; c) why the fuck would she choose to land where she did, rather than taking her usual path; and d) I really already hated the cat. Basically I locked myself in my room and cried for about a half an hour. She could have broken any number of useless fucking tchotchkes in this house without raising my bloodpressure more than 1 or 2 whatevers, but no, she breaks the one thing that really has meaning and about a million memories attached to it. I am so fucking over the fucking cat that it's ridiculous.

Wow. Yeah, I'm mad. Sorry about that. Here's something funny to restore the balance of good vs. evil: Clean Screen. Maximize your window for the full effect. :) I realize it's kind of ironic, given the rant I just gave vent to, but it's still really cute.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1