the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2003 - 2:21 a.m.

I got my very first business cards today. Woohoo! That's kinda odd, but also sorta neat. Katie Doyle, Certified Landscape Designer. I hardly know how to react.

Hey, Yale. Don't you have studying to do? Seriously, man, googling scott+peterson+decapitated is just gross. Smoke a doob or something, for crying out loud.

What's with the number of people suddenly googling Laci Peterson sans head? Did I miss something somewhere? 5 googles in the last day. Ick. In fact, most referring pages were Peterson hits. I guess landscaping and politics aren't high on anyone's list right now. At least the plastic surgery thing is getting a rest. I feel bad for Amber Frey, though, because if the number of nosy Amber Frey googlers is anything to go by, she's having a pretty miserable time right now. And you people searching for Scott Peterson jokes? Please. What kind of an idiot feels compelled to search the web for jokes about *anything*? What happened to imagination or plain old repetition? Are you so desperate to be the center of attention in your office, standing around the watercooler telling Scott Peterson jokes, that you have to actually dredge the web for 'em?

Bygones.

I am currently scanning and pressing plants from this evening's Plant ID class. It's a laborious process, because I have the Slowest Scanner On the Entire Planet, and it takes a million years to scan anything much larger than 5 x 5". It's like the William Shatner of scanners. One plant it's scanning really quickly, the next plant it spaces the scan. out. to savor. the. moment. and add. dramatic tension. I have high hopes that the job will one day be finished, however, and I can go to bed. Because, you know, I'm tired.

We had a test in there tonight, on the characteristics of 43 plants. I got a B. I was less than thrilled. I am one of those academic perfectionists who simply must have the highest grade possible on everything. If there's a bonus question, I want the bonus points AND every other point offered. I really hate to miss anything, especially if it's something I almost got right. I could have had a friggin' A, but I answered two questions contrary to how I was initially inclined to answer.

Damn it, we can't have nice things.

Is anyone else bummed there are only 5 more episodes of Buffy left, and the series finale is only an hour long? Seriously. I am cracking up, though. I have a friend who's really into Buffy, so I was looking for Buffy gifts for his birthday coming up, and they actually have a WWBD keychain: What Would Buffy Do? Seriously, that cracks me up. It must send all the WWJD people into a sacriligious tizzy of biblical proportions. But that whole WWJD thing has always just annoyed the livin' daylights out of me, since it hit when I was back in Dallas, which of course spearheads the Bible Belt, and every other friggin' car has a fish sticker on it. Seriously, if you need to ask yourself "What would Jesus do," for any given situation, there's something wrong with your inherent moral fiber. Someone once told me it means Walk With Jesus Daily, and I suppose I can stomach that more than someone who has to ask him/herself what would Jesus do, but people who feel compelled to advertise their religious beliefs strike me as suspect anyway. Maybe that comes from growing up in small town Texas, where people go to church at least twice a week: at least once on Sunday, to remember the Sabbath and keep it holy, and again on Wednesday, to see who doesn't show up (and is therefore not a real Christian). And inevitably, the people sitting near me saying "Amen" after everything the preacher said were the most hateful, least Christian people (and the biggest hypocrites) in town. So I learned to distrust people who make it a point to state their religion, no matter what religion it is. There's just something intrinsically distasteful in it for me. It's great you believe whatever you believe, just please don't shout it at me as I walk by. Thank you.

And on that note, I think the last plant just finished scanning.

Hallelujah.

Peace out,
Katie

ps. it helps if you tell D'land to publish your entry...I just got around to surfing today, and here it is, big as you please, waiting to be sent... oops.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

And that, my friends, is called Hypocrisy. A black man can steal your stereo, but he can't be your Savior.




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1