the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Feb. 15, 2003 - 11:46 p.m.

Would someone tell me how I can be sitting here craving Twinkies when I have a pound of Godiva with my name on it sitting not 6" away? Seriously. I know you guys were worried about my Cupcakes addiction, but I kicked that puppy ages ago. No, now it's Twinkies. Sponge-cakey, cream-filly goodness. Yeah, baby. And to make it worse, Hostess is currently stuffing THREE of those golden wonders in a package, for the same low price of two. They're calling it a bonus pack, but if you ask me, it's a buy-two-get-one-free bonanza. Actually, it's an insidious plan to get innocent young girls like myself hooked on sponge cake and cream filling, but I do not care. Bring on the goodness.

And then chase it with Godiva. :)

Did you guys have a good Valentine's? I had a great one. I can see how the more tragically hip and jaded among you might find it lackluster and uninteresting, but me and The Boyfriend had a great time drinking wine and playing 20th Anniversary Trivial Pursuit, which you might be inclined to believe is the easiest of the Trivial Pursuit geni, seeing as it's filled with obscure factoids occurring entirely during your lifetime.

Au contraire, mes amis.

Do YOU know what $700 "butt pedestals" helped drive countless dot.coms into bankruptcy? What South African golfer was known as "The Goose"? Who wrote Riverworld? What rapper used a ghostwriter for his 1991 autobiography because he didn't "know all the certain words to word it"? What landmark 1984 book calls the growing matrix of computer networks "consensual hallucination"? What model of computer Apple disposed the last 2700 of in 1989, in Utah? And what 1990 Naomi Wolf book charted the rise of cosmetic surgery and eating disorders?

Uh-huh.

After he kicked my ass at Trivial Pursuit, in the most humiliatingly crushing victory ever (for me, anyway; I rule at Trivial Pursuit - ask any of my friends), The Boyfriend noodled around on the piano a bit, which led to listening to a cd I made, and then he messed around with the mandolin for while before giving that up and going to the guitar. He went out and got a book of 70's music he's got, and for 2 or 3 hours, we sang 70's music together. (I'd forgotten what a great song "At Seventeen" is, and now I can actually sing it. John Denver songs, on the other hand, way too high and outta my key.) It was great. By the time we finally got to sleep, it was 7am. :) Great night, thanks for asking. :) I hope everyone had as much fun, whatever they were doing.

I spent today sleeping until 3, and I do not feel the least bit guilty about it, either. Then The Boyfriend went to play x-box and music with former bandmates, and I made some scarves for various friends and myself, caught up on must-see tv, and ate colonel chicken. Which was a letdown, because I asked for chocolate parfait, but they gave me strawberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Parfait.

Strawberry Cheesecake.

Yeah. They sound exactly the same.

So, that's about it. I did some "shopping" yesterday, too. Got the fleece for the scarves and a skein of yarn for a baby blanket I'm making and only bought 5 skeins for, found out I'd been shorted on an acting check, got that sorted out, exchanged a dvd I didn't want for The Princess Bride, so my very old and warn video copy can die now, for all I care, and the piece de resistance, spent - are you ready for this; maybe you should sit down, first - $154 + change on markers for design class.

Yes, markers. As in, the kind you color things with. Like Magic Markers, only much more expensive. $3.35 - 3.85 each expensive, though since I buy all my supplies there, the place cut me some slack and let me have 'em for $2.50 each, which is still unfreakingreal, if you ask me. Especially when I was buying 54 of the damn things. I'd better use them a lot, that's all I have to say. When I told TB how much they cost, his mouth fell open, which was somewhat gratifying, because it showed I'm not the only one on the planet who thinks that's an ungodly price to spend on freaking markers, for cryin' out loud. I can't wait to shell out $150+tax on that construction book I need to buy. I'm hoping McGraw-Hill ends up publishing it, because if they do, I'll get it for free, and free is always good.

I did find out that after 5 or 6 years of working in landscape design, I can take the licensing exam, and if I pass it, I will be able to jump to Landscape Architect without having to go thru the long and arduous practice of attending 8 - 10 more years of school and apprenticing for at least 2 more before being eligible to take the exam. Woohoo!

Now if I can just get the one guy in my classes who works for a pool company and thinks *he's* teaching to shut the hell up and quit interrupting the lectures, all will be good. Well, that and if I could smack the snot out of the bitchy insecure woman from last semester who continues to haunt me this one. Seriously, though, when you pay good money to learn something from an accomplished and interesting professional, do you really want interruptions, advice, and "contributions" from some fucking schmo who has nothing more to recommend him than that his uncle owns a pool construction company and he spent his summers pouring concrete? Please.

BTW, nosy Katie Doyle searcher who surfs here from Walmart? Please find an alternative source of news, I'm begging you.

On that note, it's time for Twinkies.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Scaling the Cliffs of Insanity.
Battling Rodents of Unusual Size.
True Love has never been a snap.



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1