the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Jul. 26, 2006 - 3:38 p.m.

I just have to say, the best quiche in the entire world comes from Paris, no doubt. And I know where to find the best, thickest slice of Quiche Lorraine for the least amount of money. Lucky for me, that just happens to be the bakery near my house. :) (the one where I burst into tears - the quiche lorraine there is so good I will actually return to the scene of my humiliation for it. that should tell you something.)

Holy wow. British crime dramas get a lot more graphic than ours do. I mean, wow, that was gross.

I think I'm getting a little UTI (sorry guys), and that is sucking. I need some cranberry, quick. :( It's not surprising; there's so much mineral in the water (mostly calcium), it leaves white crust behind everywhere. And not like in a week. One time you leave water anywhere, and you'll have white crust there when it dries. My shiny aluminum sink is a mess. That's also why my hair always looks a little dirty here, even just out of the shower.

I went to Carrefour today, to load up on paper towels and toilet tissue and hopefully score a dish strainer. It's easy to get lost in Carrefour, and every time I go, I'm there for at least 2 hours. So I was there pretty much until they closed, at 10, and when I came out, boy had the weather changed. Normally at 10, there's still a decent amount of light out. It's twilight/dusk, to be sure, but you can still see where you're going. Tonight, it was pretty dark, and the wind was kicking up. In fact, on the way to the Metro, the lid to my laundry hamper (4,40 euros!!!) flew open and whacked the crap out of my face. There were twigs and things too big to be called twigs, but I guess too small to be called branches snapping out of trees and blowing at me. Some got stuck in my hair, some scratched up my legs, some pegged me in the face. But I made it to the Metro in one piece and got to my station okay...where the clouds were engaging in a little thing I like to call "torrential downpour". Like, Texas rain. Midwest prairie rain. Put the sandbags down and keep an eye on the river rain. I'm talkin' rain, people. And wind. And lightning to rend the sky, and a whole lot of that rolling tin thunder, as well as some serious cracking kind. I got most of the way home and had to seek shelter in the doorway of a bistro that has and awning, where I stood and watched the rain pour down and sang showtunes until it lightened to mere rain, and then I walked the rest of the way home, where I discovered that, Oh yeah - I left the windows open. So the 9 square feet of carpet under my livingspace window were totally soaked, my shoes were soaked, the plastic sitting to the side that I use for when it rains were soaked, and my shoes were soaked. So was the kitchen counter, including the electrical burners set into the counter...oops. So I soaked most of it up with paper towels, and hopefully it'll dry tomorrow, and then I got out of my soaking wet clothing and dried out my laundry hamper, so I could put my laundry in it, then put away my groceries and had my soggy quiche for dinner, and now I have to go lie down, because my back is killing me from sitting crosslegged in front of the coffee table, stretching to reach the keyboard.

Peace out,
Katie


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1