the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 - 2:56 a.m.

Okay, here's where we are in the Great Katie Doyle Voter Registration Drive of 2004.

I have amended the eligibility so that voters in England are also eligible. Mainly because one of them asked, but also because I don't like Tony Blair any more than I like Idiot Shrub Boy, so I would also like to encourage people there to vote as well. Elitist snobs here who want to whine about how that isn't fair and doesn't help the voting cause in this country can just hush. There are maybe 2 whole people who read me from that side of the pond. Not counting the people who live near them. Those people already hate Bush, so it doesn't really matter who they vote for, now does it? I do wish to stress, however, that what matters in the GKDVRD of 2004 is that people in this country just frigging register to vote. I am not going to ask your political affiliation...although to be honest, you'll make my day if it's anti-Bush and not pro-Nader. Not that I have anything against Nader, I just sorta feel like that's a useless vote this time around. That being said, you should definitely vote your conscience, and I am not about to judge anyone for doing that, no matter who they vote for. I once wrote "none of the above" in on my ballot, so I certainly can't fault a person who favors Nader. Bushies, otoh...

Bygones. ;)

ANYWAY: the Great Katie Doyle Voter Registration Drive of 2004 is now officially underway. To qualify for the drawing, you must be a person who is not registered to vote already. To participate and be eligible for the drawing, you must then register to vote and send me an email stating your name and the date, time, and place you registered.

For example: My name is Bill S, and I registered to vote today, September 22, at the post office in Northridge CA, at 3pm. Or my name is Sara T, and I mailed my registration from my office in Sherman Oaks CA when I got there at 9am.

You have to include the date and your state, no exceptions. I might need a tie-breaker of some sort, so that time thing is important, too. Why? I don't know. We always have to put it on our Oscar ballot every year. Just do it, and we'll all get along; even I like to sheep out from time to time.

Bygones.

"But Katie," I hear you saying, "I'm already registered to vote; don't I get a prize, too?"

Well, strictly speaking, this is a voter registration drive, so really, um, no. HOWEVER, I like for everyone to go 'way happy, so I will be having another drawing after the registration drive. That drawing is at the moment unnamed, but rest assured, it will have some kind of super snazzy name like the Great Katie Doyle Vote Drive of 2004, or something. And there will be several prizes for that one, too.

I would love to spoil you people more, but let us not forget, I am currently unemployed, and the holidays loom pretty damn large just around the corner. Not to mention several birthdays. So since I am not a multi-national corporation with tons of tax-free disposable profit income, those are the rules.

Now, several of you are wondering what the prizes might be. Yes, you are, I hear you; don't even think about denying it. Well, happily, some people are talking about kicking in prizes to the effort, so there might actually be more stuff to give away by the time this thing winds down and November 3 rolls around. But to date, here are some of the possible prizes:

a very pretty light blue suede folder to hold 4x6 photos
a very pretty olive green suede pencil case
potpourri in a little bowl, with scented oil
jewelry
a personalized bookmark
mix cd's
5 blank recordable cd's and cases to go with them
blank writing journals
a new address book
very pretty floral notecards and matching envelopes
nesting boxes, also floral and rather pretty
mineral water and essential oil spritzers for your face and body
Jewels of the Oracle puzzle game (for Win 95/98)
some kind of chocolate, which brand has yet to be determined
a box of 3 scented votive candles in clear glass holders
another little gardenia-scented candle in a little holder
a pedestal candle holder
a plastic cd wallet that holds 24 cd's
a metal picture frame
a ceramic flower pot (or more)

I am open for suggestions, as well as donations to the voter registration drive effort, from anyone who has something someone gave them they have never used and just don't need or want. :) I should probably get some slightly more masculine items, too, I guess, huh?

Anyway, there you have it. Let the voter registrations begin!

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1