the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, May. 22, 2003 - 12:03 a.m.

Okay, I am currently scanning plants in Universal Slow Mode, so I have some time to kill between plants. ::sigh::

Have I mentioned that I am seriously sleep-deprived, people? Coz, I am.

So, while I'm waiting for the current plant to scan, I have answered some notes, forwarded a link, and tried to remember who asked me to fill out her survey. Sadly, that last little bit has absolutely 100% eluded me, so if you have asked me to come fill out your survey, and I have not yet done so, please ask again. Sorry. I can only juggle so many tomatoes. I don't know how many, but apparently not as many as I've been trying to.

I saw something quite odd today, people. A pickup truck with a camper shell on it, jam-packed to the top of the shell and pressing against the nice wide windows with dirt, rocks, and chunks of cement. Who does that? And if they'd been hauling it to the dump, it would have made some sense, but they took it to a house. One that did not look like it had a giant crater anywhere in its vicinity. My reation:

"Huh."

I have noticed that in the days immediately following a full moon, people drive like crap.

People in LA drive like crap regardless, but in the days after a full moon, they really drive like crap. It's very weird. Has anyone else made note of this phenomenon? Keep an eye out next month and see if it's the same in your fair city, will ya? And lemme know.

And that brings us to Katie's Issue du Jour, people. Respect.

I'm talking the kind of simple respect with which we should all treat our fellow human beings. Respect which entails NOT doing things like making eye contact with me as you make a lane change into the side of my car and force me into the curb and yet continuing to make the fucking lane change anyway. Respect like allowing me to put my frigging change away in my purse and pick up my groceries before you elbow me aside so you can stand in the same place I am or give me the bum's rush so you can ring up the next customer. It takes 30 fucking seconds to put my change away. Give me that 30 fucking seconds, or I swear to God, it's going to get ugly. Ask me if I want paper or plastic. Don't just shove my groceries in plastic before I get the chance to open my mouth and then roll your eyes and act all irritated before you pick up the plastic bag and set it inside the paper one. I DO NOT WANT FUCKING PLASTIC; DO NOT GIVE IT TO ME WHEN I HAVE SPECIFICALLY REQUESTED PAPER. Say excuse me and thank you. When I walk into your store and you are about to close early, do not snarl "we're closed." Say "I'm sorry, ma'am but we are closed." Let people get off the elevator before you get on. Let people out of a building before you walk in. Do not shriek at your children or allow your children to shriek at you in the middle of a crowded restaurant, movie theatre, shop, or gas station. Do not honk your fucking horn to wave at someone or set your alarm when I am passing directly in front of it. It's goddamned loud, and it hurts my fucking ears. Not to mention in the days following September 11, I was jumpy as hell. While walking down a crowded sidewalk, do not steamroll over my ass or force me to step off the curb and into the street to avoid you walking over me. Step to the fucking right and give me the space to pass, dickweed.

I'm not even going to go into roosters.

The point is, you should show some respect to your fellow human beings. The same damn respect you would like to be treated with. Otherwise, you should not be surprised when people show up at your place of employment with several loaded weapons and a temper badly in need of checking. I think there would be a lot less shit going on in the world these days if we all showed decent respect to our fellow man and treated people like human beings instead of something we wouldn't even step in.

In short, don't be an asshole, people. You do not have impunity. You might think you do, but you do not. And one day, your shit is going to catch up with you. One day, you might be standing behind *me* in line, and the saints help you when that happens, because it won't be pretty. I have been elbowed out of the way for the last time, and all the righteous indignation I have been squelching for almost my entire life is about to come spilling out in a way that will make Armageddon look like a cakewalk. Do you really want to be standing at Ground Zero when *that* happens? I think not. So shape up.

Or else.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Everything you see exists in a delicate balance. As king you must understand that balance and respect all creatures.




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1