the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Jan. 11, 2003 - 8:08 p.m.

Many, many people are interested in the Lacy Peterson case. In less than 24 hours, I have been hit 34 times from that search topic. I wonder how many of the people who end up here figure Scott Peterson is guilty as hell and how many think he's a poor grieving husband? At least one of them seems to think a neighbor took her, since their search phrase was "Did a neighbor take Laci Peterson?" Again, I find the use of a question mark in a google search amusing and ludicrous. It isn't ask Jeeves, people. For that matter, you don't need a question mark to search that engine, either. When people use question marks in a search, is it ingrained since they're asking a question, or do they actually think of a search engine as something which is capable of distinguishing and answering questions? One has to wonder.

One does, too; shut up.

The one search for Laci Peterson info that sort of bothers me is what+now+Laci+Peterson...why is this person searching those terms? That's kinda off, if you ask me. It's like directing a search directly at Mrs. Peterson, and as she's dead, I find that a tad twisted in a slightly disturbing way. But that's probably just me...

And someone was pretty adamantly searching out the Detroit Group and their "terrorism" slant. That's kind of interesting.

Top Searches Ending Here
With 57 total searches, we have -
Laci Peterson: 34
Golfzilla: 7
Nosy Katie Doyle googlers: 5 (probably wondering who this upstart bitch is, railing on Scott Peterson...)

Most Horrific Search:
rhinestone flipflops

My eyes; my EYES.

Grossest Search:
Someone with what has to be a reasonably unhealthy obsession with a certain D'land diarist who shall remain nameless.

Hmmm
Someone crashed a small plane in the West Lake Village Cemetery today...narrowly missing the memorial for the victims of the Alaska Air crash just off the coast here (flight 81?). That's something for you. It might not be irony, but it's sure something...

Speaking of Laci Peterson...
They searched the marina today, for an object sonar had picked up that they thought might be her body. It turned out to be an old anchor, which is a good thing, I suppose. I say suppose, because you don't really want her to be dead, but let's get real, people. When a grown woman 8.5 months pregnant goes missing on Christmas Eve and still hasn't been heard from 18 days later, her car is still in the drive, her purse and keys are still in the house, and no kidnapper has been heard from, you know that woman is not coming home. Which totally sucks, but my feeling there is that the sooner you find her body, the sooner you can find out how she died and collect the evidence that will fry the asshole who hurt her. I don't mean to be callous or uncaring, I'm just saying. And I can understand the bystanders at the marina today being happy or whatever that it wasn't her body down there on the bottom, but I think applauding is a very odd thing to do, frankly. It makes it sound like a circus or some form of entertainment, and that just smacks of very poor taste and an extreme lack of tact, in my opinion. What would they have done if it *had* been her? And seriously, why the hell were there bystanders on hand for that event? Close enough to see what was going on, anyway. I'm sure the family members didn't applaud - I mean, *I* certainly wouldn't have. My reaction would have been a visible sagging relief, coupled with frustration at not knowing where my loved one was. I sure as hell wouldn't *applaud* the anchor, so I'm thinking for other people who were there to applaud is just really thoughtless and tacky. But then, The Boyfriend says - and I have to agree - that anyone who travelled out there to see them pull whatever it was out of the water was an idiot to begin with. I would modify that to say idiotic vulture.

That's about it, gang. I made my mom's hamburger soup today for dinner, and it was mm-mm good. :) You should try it some time. If you want the recipe, email me and ask. It's super easy to make and great cold weather food. After dinner, we watched Kikujiro. It was a very odd, meandering sort of film, and The Boyfriend and I kept wondering why the guy wandering around with the kid didn't get punched a lot more often, since he was pretty much just a rude schmuck. He turned out to be kinda nice, but even then, he was still a jerk to people. I guess it was interesting, but more because I was trying to figure out what the hell the point was than anything else. I don't want to see it again, but I guess if you're of a mind, you could rent it. Only if you're a very patient person and in a very relaxed mood, however. If you're a kinda high strung and very type a, trust me, skip it and go for something with lots of noise and bright shiny pictures.

Bygones.

Jeez, I have the attention span of a puppy...I'm this close to the end of this post and I take time out to watch SNL...and it's not even that great a show; in fact, tonight's sucked. I do have a question, though - does Amy Poehler bug the hell out of anyone else? I really can't stand that chick. The Boyfriend said most of the show usually sucks, and I asked why then, do we continue watching, and he said mainly for the original cast, which makes no sense, since they're not on anymore, but yeah, it's kind of a tradition that started when we were kids and just continues. Maya Rudolph, though, and Darrell Hammond, those guys are good. Oh well. Enough of that. Hope you're having a good weekend, kiddies.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Let my Cameron go.




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1