the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Nov. 10, 2003 - 11:39 p.m.

You know, irony is wasted on a lot of people. I am not one of them, which just might explain Irony's dogged pursuit of me my entire life.

It likes the recognition.

I am not having a good time right now. Irony has poked its long, pointy finger into my life yet again and is jabbing it around a little too much for my freaking satisfaction. Seriously, is it too much to ask for a little quiet reading time, all on my own, without Irony poking its cold bony finger into my shoulder every time I turn around? It's not like I've lived some sheltered little life that needs to be slapped upside the head with a hockey stick full o' reality. And frankly, I've had it up to here with reality. I get reality, folks. I get that it ain't all fairytales and Beaver Cleaver water glasses and shiny happy people living shiny happy lives. But damn it, some people are. Is it too much to expect that after having paid the piper (how many metaphors can I pack into this thing, anyway?) as many years as I have that perhaps, just for, oh, I don't know, say the next 40 years, I could take a little break from the irony jig and be one of them?

It's not that I don't appreciate a good Irony. Because, oooooh, I do. Take, for example, the case of one Lindford Christie, olympic runner. Lindford was disqualified in 1996 for anticipating the start of the 100m race twice. Two false starts in the same race compel a runner's dismissal from the event...a rule that Christie himself caused to come into being when he complained and campaigned for it after having been distracted by another runner's numerous false starts during the same event at the '92 games. Not bearing any ill will towards Mr. Christie, I found the irony in that particular situation exquisite. So it's not like I can't appreciate the stuff. I'd just like it to be a lot less evident in my own life. Or at least to come at me in smaller doses less often. Much smaller doses. Waaaaay less often.

::sigh::

Aside from that, I suppose all is well. Or at least, what passes for it here. I did go this weekend and see Love Actually, which was really, really, really good. Hugh Grant is totally cute in it, and I have never been a Hugh Grant fan. But for those of you definitely NOT Hugh fans, there are about 4 other storylines, so it's not like he is all the movie, and it is really well done, so you should go. Richard Curtis, the same guy who wrote 4 Weddings & a Funeral and Notting Hill, wrote and directed it, but don't let that get in your way. It's a lot better than both of them, which, while they had their moments, I found contrived and rather boring. Not so this film, which I absolutely loved, and which goes on the list of faves. The ending doesn't wrap all the storylines very well and is again contrived here and there, but still, I liked it a lot. Good holiday/date movie, and not just for the chicks, though it is probably mostly chickish. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

All you need is love.




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1