the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Jul. 31, 2007 - 11:36 p.m.

Ow.

I worked out for the second day in a row tonight, and just because I felt I wasn't sore enough beforehand, I really knocked myself out to make sure I hit every single muscle group I've got, and wow, does it hurt. Everywhere. Like, even the toes of my left foot. Ow.

I read about a site today called Freecycle, where people post about stuff they have to give away and others who live in the same community can take it or say what they're looking for. Unfortunately, I read about it on Yahoo, where everyone else in the world did, too, so the site was out of commission for a while today and is still running really slowly. And I can't access the Los Angeles groups at all. The same article mentioned a few other organizations that do the same thing, but they're all Yahoo groups, which I think has the single worst interface for a group dynamic ever invented. It's seriously just frigging useless rot when it comes to trying to read messages. So I'm going out on a limb to start my own message board. I have enough environment-minded friends who happen to have lots of environment-minded friends, so I really don't think it'll be a problem getting the word out for it. I think the guy who came up with the whole idea is pretty freaking righteous; it's a great idea. I have something I'm going to get rid of, so rather than toss it out, I find someone else who needs or wants it, and if I need or want something, I find someone who's giving it away. Seriously, what's better than that? :)

I just wish Yahoo hadn't doomed the poor guy's site to a denial of service charge. Alas.

The last 2 days of work have been really difficult with all the hyper-rude people slinging serious negative energy. I almost snapped back at a woman today. I opened my mouth to ask her what the hell, that I'd been polite to her, so maybe she should try a little politeness herself, when the less spontaneous part of my brain kicked in to offer up the suggestion I not do that. I listened to it, but when I gave her the book she was looking for, I just shoved it at her, said "here," and walked off. She had the good grace to look slightly sheepish and say thank you. I hate that there are people in this world who make you be bitchy back before they suck up their bullshit and behave in a civilized manner. I can get bitchy better than most, but I prefer not to. It irritates me when I have to do it just to be treated with respect. That's fucked up.

I might be coaching a young girl who wants to take private acting lessons. I helped her out when she came into the store, and she and her mother have taken a shining to me. That might be fun. And hopefully a little bit lucrative. :) I'd love to be able to do my own thing and still pay bills. That would be wonderful. :)

My ears are screamingly loud, and I don't know why.

You would think that with all the hundreds of thousands of manuscripts submitted to editors/publishers each year, and with the infinitesimal number of them that actually get published, that those books which do make it to publication would actually be well-written, wouldn't you?

Sadly, no. We get a lot of advance copies of things to the store, which are free to any one of us who wants them, so I pick up a lot of things on my break and start reading. And the vast majority of them are really not well-written. It's kind of astounding. Today's book was one called "The Art Thief," which is totally a retooled ripoff of the DaVinci Code, and it was so horrible, I couldn't get through the first very short chapter. I also read a good bit of "The Manny" that way, and while it isn't necessarily badly written, it isn't a good book. Unless like whiny, privileged heroines writing in the first person and complaining about their lives as they have extramarital affairs with the graduate students they hire to mentor their sons. Which I don't.

There's also one in the breakroom right now that was written by one of the company executives, and I won't even go into that one. Yowza. Let's just say some people truly suck at dialogue, and leave it at that...

I have 4 days off after tomorrow...yay!!! 'Course, I have to spend them doing taxes, but still. 4 days! :)

I have to go, now. Typing hurts.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1