the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Jul. 31, 2007 - 12:17 a.m.

This was a vitriol-filled post about irresponsible parents, which I deleted. Suffice to say I spent 2 f'g hours listening to not one but two kids scream their heads off today - at once. One of them only went for around 45 minutes before her mother finally took her away, but one of them went at it for nearly the entire 2 hours (they overlapped) while her parents blithely shopped and pushed her around in her stroller like they were deaf. I still have not recovered from it. There is not another sound on the planet that makes me want to punch a person like the sound of a screaming toddler, and two hours of it was really too much. When it finally stopped (because they left the store), I literally felt like a huge, crushing weight had been lifted from me and I could finally breathe. That sound literally makes me feel like I'm going to snap if someone doesn't shut it up immediately. There's just something about it that causes an extreme, visceral reaction, though I suppose it could be the post traumatic stress disorder I deal with on a daily basis, I don't know. I react very similarly to car horns and constantly barking dogs, though with the dogs, I can usually tolerate it for about an hour before I feel close to snapping. My reaction to the Hocker was also pretty close.

The other thing was the woman who let her 2 year old motor around the store while she sat in the cafe drinking a latte and flipping through celebrity magazines and then dished us major 'tude when we had to page her to come be a fucking responsible parent for her kid. I have rarely seen that kind of arrogant, completely disdainful and unconcerned crappy attitude from anyone, and I live in LA, which says more than you know. I seriously wanted to slap her.

Aside from that, I've been going to the gym and trying to stay motivated to eat better and keep working out. I hate everything about the gym except for the lifting of weights, so you can imagine it's really hard to make myself go. Luckily, I met a girl named Bess who hates it as much as I do, so we meet up and commisserate while we pedal our asses off. Tomorrow, she's dragging me into bellydancing aerobics. I can't tell you the level of dread with which I view that activity. I told her I'd go tomorrow, but if I feel like a dork, I won't do it again, and she said okay. For me, I'm going to a kickboxing cardio class this week and see what that's like. If we get to hit bags, I'll be fine, but that tae bo thing is just silly.

I got my hours cut to 3 days this week. :( One of the managers took 'em away when I got to work today, because she said they'd overbudgeted labor last week, so they had to cut it this week. Seeing as I was the only person scheduled to and working the information desk on Saturday night, I'd like to know how they think they overbudgeted, but whatever. Corporations suck it, and we'll leave it at that.

I got nothin' else, really. I'm PMS'g and in a fairly bad mood, so I shouldn't have posted, but I was tired of seeing that last entry up there. Gotta suck it up and move on. It's too sad to ruminate on.

Peace out,
Katie


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1