the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, May. 21, 2005 - 6:21 p.m.

Friday Finds On Saturday...woohoo!

My favorite find of the week is one I just made - thru the miracle of email, in which the site maker pointed it out, so I suppose strictly speaking, it is not actually a find, per se, but still - CuppaJoe's photoblog, Cuppagraphy, and it's really cool. :) I love seeing photos of other people's daily lives, especially when it's someone I know and like, and they live far away. If they live in a foreign country, that just amps up the degree of coolness, and if it's a place I have travelled to and liked a lot, that is just supercool buttercream frosting on the cake. I've been to Toronto and really dug it, so it's neat seeing Joey's photos. Plus, they're good photos. :)

Okay, this will totally mark me as a hopelessly paisley geek for the rest of my life, but in the 80's, I discovered this sort of trivia MUD called Pyroto Mountain. You had to answer all these questions to advance, and once you made so many mistakes, it would kick you off the system, and you couldn't play again for 24 hours. Apparently, it still exists, only now you have to socialize with others playing the game to build points, or it still kicks you off the system. And I can't figure out how to get a user id, because the main page seems to be malfunctioning, but I mentioned it to the guy whose computer I used to use to play it (it was my first internet experience), and so I googled it, and I found this page regarding it (along with the malfunctioning log-in page), called Broppsfar Mountain. So go, trivia geeks afraid of real personal interaction. It will be fun. (warning: back in the day, the questions could get pretty trivial...and tough)

I came across this really disturbing video playing in support of National Slap Your Coworker Day or something. Frankly, I find it offensive in the extreme. I actually first saw it large enough to see clearly on someone's weblog (he has since taken it down), and that was really just appalling and rather shocking. This link goes to a thumbnail. I want to know what mysoginistic prick thought it would be amusing (see below?). Because it really isn't. I understand that Slap Your Coworker Day is meant as a joke. That fucking video? Isn't funny.

(You can see it in context to the joke here. As I said, I understand the concept is meant to be amusing, but the fact that the guy cites Ike Turner ("Well, on behalf of Ike Turner, I am so very very glad to officially announce Tuesday the 17th of May as "SLAP YOUR IRRITATING CO-WORKER DAY"!) amps up the distasteful and offensive factor for me. Perhaps that is a merely unfortunate coincidence, but since Ike is known for having abused wife Tina, I just find the whole thing repulsive.

Whack Your Boss like the Sopranos, on the other hand, really appeals to the macabre in me. It is not for the squeamish, however; while it's animated, several of the vignettes go to extremes. I prefer the ones where the violence happens "off camera". And the reactions of the other office workers.

On a side note, I do not recommend any of this guy's other little animations (except for georgebushmisunderestimated), because they're really gross, tasteless, and vulgar. And while I realize the irony involved in my saying that when I have just pointed you to an animated cartoon involving stabbing a ruler thru someone's head, trust me, they are tasteless. Unless you like "gags" concerning poop. In which case, knock yourself out.

Phoons from Around the World. Who knew?

You gotta love that Kraft is steppin' out to help undercover alcoholics and college binge partiers everywhere. What I really love is the "non-alcoholic" disclaimer at the bottom. I also find it hysterical that all of the recipes are conspicuously missing the one ingredient we all know would actually be involved for anyone buying a Margarita or Pina Colada flavor Jell-O. Instead, they call for "carbonated lemon-lime beverage". Uh-huh.

And speaking of disclaimers, how many people have actually complained about color, texture, and availability, that the big red, bolded disclaimer for gummi Smurfs is more than twice as long as the overly descriptive description of the product? I mean, wow.

For that matter, how many people are anal-retentively obsessed with gummi Smurfs?

Both of the above links are courtesy of Pop Culture Junk Mail, which got the latter from Mimi Smartypants. Even when I leave Diaryland for parts unrelated, I run into Ms. Smartypants. That chica gets around, with or without little Nora. :)

And now I have to go. I have a videogame to play at JonnyC's. D&D Heroes. Because I am a geek like that, yo.

Peace out,
Katie


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1