the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Oct. 26, 2004 - 8:19 p.m.

It is raining cats and dogs here in the good ol' SanFern Valley.

Apologies to those of you who attempted to follow a link to get here. I took the entry down around 7:30 PST this morning. It was too highly personal, and I really don't think this is the correct forum to deal with the problem at hand. I thought this was a good indirect way of dealing with the issue, because the friend in question reads this weblog regularly. Unfortunately, I'm pretty hurt about the judgement I feel was made, and I wasn't able to keep the thing at a level that wouldn't make other people either a) uncomfortable, or um, b) afraid of me. Let me just say instead, that it must be really nice for your life to be going as planned. Good on ya. Seein' as it's all roses where you are, perhaps you could allow that life doesn't go as planned for all of us, that sometimes it deviates so wildly from the planned path that it's all Raiders of the Lost Ark jungle and weird animal sounds out there, and without a map or compass, we have a little trouble figuring out which way to head or how to get there, seein' as we also happen to have lost our machete somewhere way back in the tangle, and I swear, I have passed that same freaking vine at least 100 times now, so clearly, I am going in circles. Cut me some slack. And if you have questions about how/why I'm living my life or what I want, ask me, not a mutual friend. Because, I feel like there are some unfair judgements being made, and frankly, that bums me out. I don't judge my friends, and I kinda expect the same consideration.

Bygones.

You guys got your voter registration cards and ID ready? Voting Day approacheth. :)

There are some things in the news this last week I'd just like to touch on, if I may. And even if I mayn't. Because this is my weblog, so to hell with ya, I say! Okay, really I don't say that. But it *is* my weblog... The first sees the return of the Katie Doyle...

Stupid Quote(s) of the Day:
"We got along fine for years with the 18-year-old drinking age." --Pete Coors, Coors Co. beer scion currently running for the US Senate and campaigning to lower the national drinking age from 21 to 18.

Pete actually said that in defense of this statement, which also rates a big KDSQotD mention:

"Maybe the answer is lowering the drinking age so that kids learn to be responsible about drinking at a younger age. I'm not an advocate of trying to get people to drink, but kids are drinking now anyway."

So, lemme get this straight. You, Pete Coors, CEO of Coors Brewery and distribution, a company that spent $430M in advertising during 2001, only 50% of said advertising regulated to adults 21 years of age or older, and in 2002, signed a 5-year, $300M contract for the right to be called the official beer of the NFL, you aren't an "advocate of trying to get people to drink"? Ah ha ha ha ha, ah ha ha ha ha, ah ha ha ha--oh; you were serious about that? Riiiiight. That's not a big ol' conflict of interest, either, you owning a beer company and serving as a United States Senator who just coincidentally thinks the drinking age should be lowered, is it? Which brings us to Stupid Quote o' the Day #3:

"I'm not running for the U.S. Senate for me. I don't need a job, actually."

::snort:: No, it's the good people of Golden, Colorado, whose best interests you have at heart, Pete. We're buyin' it. No, really. We are.

Boy, not since the Golfzilla debacle of 2002 have we had such a well of stupid quotes stemming from one person. Get DOWN with your bad self, Pete. Seriously. I can't wait to search out more. Maybe I'll make the Pete Coors Stupid Quote(s) of the Day a regular feature here in Katieland. You're certainly good for it.

"We absolutely need them. The way we travel, we're going in and out of cold and warm climates. I won't say we need them more than some 85-year-old person, because obviously we don't. But I'm glad we got them." --Chicago Bulls guard Eric Piatkowski, on why the entire team took flu shots, despite a severe shortage and President Bush's insistence that only the old, young, and infirm get them.

Um, Eric? The flu is caused by a virus, not going from cold to warm climates. You need to do some actual reading and educate yourself with the facts. I mean, seriously: how stupid are you? Clearly, one needn't arm oneself with intelligence and learnin' to dribble and run at the same time.

Bygones, all you intelligent ball players. Including the Bears, who except for asthmatic players, sent their flu vaccinations back. Bears defensive end Michael Haynes had this to say: "A lot of us are healthy and we don't have respiratory problems. Obviously we're not old and we're not young, not little kids, so we don't need it and we know that. ...I didn't get one because with what's going on everywhere, I shouldn't. I don't need one as bad as some people, so I said no."

He was supported in this viewpoint by teammate Hunter Hillenmeyer, who had this to say when asked if he got his: "No. I mean, come on guys, are you serious? No."

You guys should have a talk with the Bulls.

And lastly, I have this. Ah, to be so cherished by a soft, furry creature of the feline persuasion that she lovingly brings you little goodies and treats. That she so loves and treasures you that she feels these treats should still be living, of the reptilian variety, and as large as can be carried in one's mouth with a minimum of damage, so that they are still fast enough moving so as to ensure the enjoyment of the givee.

At 7:00AM.

In bed.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1