the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Apr. 25, 2003 - 11:31 p.m.

So, tonight was J-Co's birthday, so we all met at PFChang's for the meal, which was unremarkable in its entirety, other than the bad waiter and the ridiculous host question was sitting on the patio "an option" for us.

In the wind.

And cold.

I said "No."

The reason I bring it up is because I gave him a set of 10 wine charms...Buffy wine charms. Which I had to make, because of course, no one in the Buffy merchandising department has had the foresight to make them available. So should any of you have rabid BTVS fans among your friends, I would like to state quite happily that the Buffy wine charms went over very, very well. He was thrilled with them, though I did have to explain the Angel charm, since it was a celtic knot kinda looking thingie; I could not find a claddagh charm anywhere.

And then, of course, I also gave him a keychain that said WWBD?, and he liked that too. :) And I was finally able to give him a birthday present he did not already have, which is a wonderful thing, because somehow, every single Christmas and birthday, whatEVER I choose to give him is something he already has. Really, I was getting to be quite beyond myself with the duplication. And it's stuff like I go and buy it, and then the day before his birthday, he goes and buys it for himself. Which begs the digression, why do people go and buy things they have wanted for ages immediately preceding a birthday or Christmas? WHY??? Do they not realize it totally messes it up for all their friends, who have already hunted high and low to find that perfect something??? Seriously, people, STOP DOING THAT.

Anyway, every time I give him a present, it's the same thing: "Oh, I love it...I already have it." Actually, sometimes it's varied with "What a cool present...I already have it," but you get the idea. So I was quite happy that for once I was able to give him something he did not have, and indeed had to ask, "What are they?" And when I (and the other people at the table) said "Wine charms," we still had to explain how they work. (He *is* a guy, afterall.) But once he knew what they were, he fully dug them and was quite amused. So I think that's now up there with the C3PO/R2D2 talking piggy bank that also played the theme to Star Wars I gave another friend of mine last year for Christmas. The same guy's ringer on his cell phone is the theme to Battlestar Galactica, so you know that piggy bank was the bomb. :)

So that's pretty much it. I'm going out to Palm Springs to see Gam tomorrow. I have no idea what I'm going to say to her. It's very hard to carry on a conversation with someone who is deeply hindered in their capacity. You have to phrase your stuff pretty simply and not talk about abstract things. It's a lot harder than it sounds, and this was a really boring week, so I don't know what to say to her that she will find enjoyable and interesting instead of thinking "my god, why am I stuck in bed while this mindless creature is able to walk around and do stuff?"

Anyway.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

"I kind of had a problem with the math."
"Which part?"
"The math."



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1