the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Dec. 06, 2003 - 8:20 p.m.

Another birthday come and gone. Oo. Ah.

TB and I went for a walk - a looooong walk - on the beach in Santa Monica and then had dinner at this kinda neat sort of Indonesian/Malasian restaurant on the Promenade. Sorry, but I am not up on my geography in that part of the world, so I don't actually know which it was, but I had the Burmese curried beef, and the gigantic lighting fixture in the center of our half of the restaurant looked Balinese or maybe Thai, so you figure it out. The place is called Monsoon, so those of you searching out diarists in the LA area can go and try it, if you are so inclined. It was pretty yummy. I heartily recommend the crab eggrolls, which were just packed with flavor. They're a little spicy, so if you are a spice wimp, go for the Vietnamese (see what I mean? YOU try nailing it down) shrimp spring rolls, which are good, but which will have no flavor at all if you use them to chase the crab eggrolls. They're also pretty expensive, costing about $1 an inch. The ones at the Cheesecake Factory are bigger and better, for the same price. But anyway. The place is kind of neat, and TB says on the weekends they have live jazz and stuff, so check it out next time you're looking for a new place to go or happen to be hungry on the 3rd St. Promenade.

After dinner, we walked back to the car, so I feel no guilt at all over how much I ate, and went back home, where I cut TB's hair, which sounds goofy, but which I enjoy doing, and then we went to bed early, because he had an early call at 7am the next day, and it's really hard to get up at 5:45am when that is the time you are used to going to bed. We watched Muppet Christmas Carol in bed, because that is my favorite Christmas movie, and I know it's cheesy, but I like to watch it on my birthday. And anyway, I gave him his choice between a rousing game of Uno (which we play very brutally and which he almost always wins) or the movie.

Yesterday I was feeling pretty sorry for myself, because I had to spend the entire day transcribing videos of this hateful, vile creature who is getting a gigantic, expensive wedding she does NOT deserve, and listen to her family go on and on about what a genuine, loving, sincere, appreciative person she is, when so trust me, that is not true. I felt pretty unappreciated and unloved, because here this vile, awful creature is and everyone dotes on her, and I, who hate to hurt people's feelings and usually say yes to everyone, tend to be labelled a bitch, and the only person who actually called me to say happy birthday the day before was my chiropractor, and TB did not get me a present, which I was fine with, because he just spent a big chunk of money on landscaping and has bought all this stuff for Dragonfly, so I told him not to buy me a gift, but he didn't even write me a birthday note, which is NOT okay. Or play and sing my birthday song, which is like, my favorite part of my birthday. So I came home feeling fairly unloved and neglected, and I got into a ridiculous argument with TB because I didn't want to tell him why I was in a bad mood (why do men never leave it alone when you say you don't want to talk about it?), and it turns out he felt really badly he hadn't remembered to sing to me, and that he'd spent the last 3 weeks working on it when I wasn't home. See, he only sings the song once a year (to me) and it's not some simple little version of Happy Birthday, it's this big, elaborate thing with this prolonged extra part at the end about having many more and me being really happy and all that. He couldn't believe he forgot to sing it, so we went out to the piano and he played and sang it for me, and then we played a game of Trivial Pursuit, which he scored and won at, and I felt better. :)

Thank you for all my birthday greetings and salutations, those of you who sent them. :) You are a very punctual group of people. You guys and my chiropractor score big on the list of People Katie Thinks Fondly Of & Wishes Good Things For. :)

Peace out,

Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1