the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Apr. 09, 2005 - 4:53 p.m.

Thank you for all the anti-earwig support, peeps. I am gratified to know I am not the only person utterly creeped out by those things. Especially since *some* people I know are like, "what's the problem?" Riiiight. Like you don't have a spider thing; shut up. ;)

I have sort of enjoyed my first week with no job, but only sorta, because by Wednesday, I was freaking out once again over the whole unemployment aspect of being unemployed.

I have been making some new jewelry and filling orders. Only some new jewelry, because I got sidetracked on a new project. I figure why content yourself with only one, when there are so many other lovely distractions out there, right? So I am happy to say that my buddy Calliean and I will be making templates/skins for blogs. That's right, fellow babies, I will be wasting even more time in front of the computer than I already do, at absolutely fruitless endeavors designed to amuse no one so much as myself! We already have a website and several templates, but aside from a cheesy logo, there's not much to see there at the moment. I will, however, be poking around with my template here for a while, as I am learning more css in an effort to streamline my designs, and this template needs to be tweaked anyway, as I have learned tons more about webpage design since I did it, and what is *up* with all those individual images, anyway? Hello; it's called an image map - learn to use it, loser. So in addition to streamlining the regular katiedoyle template, I will also be replacing it from time to time with others, so I can mess around with how they work on Dland. Don't go into shock or think you're in the wrong place or anything; it's just me, being extraordinarily geeky. :)

And now, the Friday Finds (yes, yes, a day late; whatEVER), beginning with art de toilette, because I guess tacky is the new classy. Can I just say, there is no way in HELL I am ever ordering one of these seats? Just...no.

Yongfook.com, the Japanese food blog. Having spent time in Japan and dealing with the serious dreck that passes for snackfood there, I can totally relate, but even if I couldn't, this guy cracks me up. Not to mention the total irony of someone from England bagging on another country's cuisine.

Bygones. :)

Excerpts from Lynne Cheney's novel, Sisters. I also know where the whole thing can be found online in PDF form, and perhaps I will tell you where if you email and ask me. Other than that, you will have to surf it out yourself, as I do not want any one of the PTB to tell the person who so thoughtfully typed the whole damn thing out that he/she has to yank it off the web. The reason being that, what with Dick serving as VP now, Ms. Cheney decided she did not want the publisher to do a second print run of the book, so now if you want it, you have to shell out $600 for a badly treated copy, or over $1000 for a decently treated copy on eBay, and frankly, I think that's crap. A poorly written book - and believe me, it is poorly written - is not worth that, no matter *who* wrote it, even if it does demonstrate better than anything else ever possibly could how someone in Lynne Cheney's position in life justifies sacrificing morality and ethics for power and money. It's an interesting read, just as a way to explore her character. And before those of you who are Republicans get upset with me, I do not mean that in a mean way. I just happen to think the book provides huge insight into how Mrs. Cheney thinks, and that reflects on who a person is; thus, her character. And if you read it and do not think the main character chooses to sacrifice morals and ethics for power and money, I will be shocked, so please do before you decide I am slamming Mrs. Cheney's character.

A plethora of socks. But no good slouchies, which are the only socks I really wear. Ever.

And finally, as if I don't have enough other stuff with which to occupy my time, thanks to Em, for this totally time-sucking addiction, The Doors. I can get into the second room (you start in room zero, so really it's the third room, but it's only the second you enter, hence, room 2), but I can't figure out what I need to get out of that one. Good luck.

Happy weekend!

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1