the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2005 - 9:56 p.m.

Dear Ashlee,
Argyle is not edgy. It is not cool, it does not make you hip. Now for the love of linebackers, put down the eye liner and step away from the peroxide. You're scaring the bats.

I am pulling a Joey and informing you that I cut my hair. Not once, but twice, last week. The first time wasn't what I wanted, because she cut it cute, but it wasn't all piecey like I wanted, so I went to my old girl and had her piece the hell out of it. Only I was thinking slightly more chunky than she was. She was thinking wispy. So this thing is more shag than gamine, which is kind of a bummer, but it'll grow, and then I'll have the new girl work with it. But cutting your hair twice in one week is pricey, yo. All told, I spent 80 bucks.

Dayam.

I was gonna take a picture of it the day Gigi (the old stylist) cut it, because it looked totally perfect and super adorable. I should have, because I have not been able to duplicate the look to save my life. And the one part of my hair that flips up no matter what? Oh, that's lying perfectly flat and curled under; the one damn thing it is not supposed to be doing. ::sigh:: I want it to be all flippy and model-like, and instead what I have is more Jodie Foster in The Accused. Which I am so not down with, but since I am hair remedial, that is apparently going to be my lot until it grows out and I at least have bangs again. Alas. I don't know why I can't figure it out; my hair loves to go all flippy. Until I want it to, in which case...not so much. ::sigh::

I hate Sharon Stone, but this is more or less what I was supposed to end up with. At least what I have will probably grow out all Meg Ryan in French Kiss, and since every time I see that movie, I think she has the most adorable hairstyle ever, I guess that's okay.

Anyway, enough about hair. (How was it, Joey?!) Today at work, I transcribed a guy who could suck the joy out of Christmas, if you asked him about it. 44 minutes of a guy who could make the most interesting subject in the entire world duller than dirt. Duller than the dull grey rock under dirt. Duller than dull. There is not word for how dull it was, people. It did, however, yield this little gem, which caused me to actually guffaw. YMMV, but trust me; after 4.5 hours of transcribing this guy, it was funny as hell. Especially given that it came with visual aids. The guy is a forensics investigator, and he was talking about the work he did involving a Jane Doe who had been stabbed thru the front of the chest, all the way thru the body and clean thru one of her vertebrae. (and there's a word I typed about a million times today, until I finally cracked and entered a spell correct in for it) So he's holding up this chest skeleton and demonstrating with a knife, and he said (minus all the uh's, stutters, and backtracks):

"...it would have gone through the lungs, perhaps hitting the heart, and then lodging in the vertebra, which is uh, towards the back of this, of this particular model."

Of this particular model. Like, your spine moves around so much, and is, in fact, located in different places on different people. I'm sorry, but I totally did a belly laugh. People came around the corner to see why I was laughing. I couldn't help it. After hours of tedium, that was damned funny, people.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

spell corrects of the day:
parl = particular, parly = particularly, vb = vertebra, vbs = vertebrae
dmn = dimension, dmns = dimensions, p.ot = pattern of trauma



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1