the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Dec. 23, 2007 - 6:42 p.m.

Just want to take this moment to wish all my peeps here at katiedoyle.diaryland.com a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I hope too, that all my Jewish peeps had a wonderful Hanukkah (or Hannukah; I can never remember how to spell it...Hannukkah is my preferred spelling, but I feel fairly certain that has at least one letter too many...). If you are of a mind to celebrate Kwanzaa, I hope that goes well for you, too. And if you're of the atheistic ilk, well, have a nice day.

It's been quite a stressful year here at Chez Doyle. Things have happened recently which I am still digesting and therefore not blogging. I don't plan on blogging them either, but I will clue you in as to what the status is once I myself know and have had time for the dust to settle. I don't know when that will be. In some ways, 2008 wasn't all that taxing. In others, it sucked. I wish it were January 3 already, but since I have not been blessed with the ability to mold time and space, I'm just riding out the remainder of this year and trying to get through it with my head down and a modicum of damage to my psyche.

I just want 2008 to be better. I'd love it to be a lot better, but I'll settle for a little. And I want to get my act together and write my kids' book and get it submitted to at least one publisher by March. I also want to find a way back to myself, to remember who I am and why I don't suck and what it is people might like about me, because frankly, I haven't seen much of me around since sometime in 2000. I miss me. A lot. It freaks me out that I am friends with people now who have never actually seen me. They have no idea who I am. They became friends with the wretch I am now and are able to stomach her, which speaks volumes about their own characters, and God bless them, but I would like them to know the me that was, not the bitter, hopeless me that currently inhabits my person. Of all the people I am friends with here in California, only Jonny C has seen any inkling of the real me. So hopefully in 2008, I will at least begin the journey back to who I used to be. I pray I can remember who that was.

I'll probably also return to television in 2008. I have a renewed appreciation for it after all the time I've spent at Big Chain Bookstore. I still dealt with assholes. I still dealt with clueless idiots. I just did it for a lot less money and the thrill of punching a timeclock. I'm working right now on adjusting my attitude, so that when I am once again faced with the soul-sucking task of logging raw footage, I can do it the way everyone else does: with just enough effort to get by and a heaping helping of WTF.

I realize that sounds horrible, and so trust me, it goes 100% against my character and work ethic. But I have found that in most places, they really don't care how well it's done, so long as it's done, and if that's the kind of place I'm working for, why obsess over doing it to the best of my ability and getting pissed off and burnt out because everyone else slacks? Save the real effort for people who are paying you to achieve. That would be my new motto. I am imploying it to great effect at the BCB, where I no longer attempt to put books back where they might actually be found when needed, and just shove them into any available slot for them on the shelf. Unless I have actually been given time to do the task properly, at which point I do so. But at night, when we are closing, and I find a book about tennis mixed in with the mystery novels, that baby goes right in there with the Janet Evanovich books. They don't give me enough time to pull it, look it up, and put it away properly, so I no longer kill myself trying to get it done and then getting yelled at for taking too long, especially as my coworkers have no such compunction regarding the alphabet OR subject matter. If I can shove a tennis book which clearly has no place in the Stephanie Plum universe in there with it anyway, then you bet your butt I can log a bunch of inane girls fighting over one single guy as half-assed as is humanly possible and not lose any sleep over that ever again either.

But I'm drifting away from my intent, which is just to say Merry Christmas. I hope it's wonderful and full of fun. And that 2008 sees you happy, healthy, and maybe a little bit wise.

xo,
kd

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1