the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, May. 04, 2007 - 4:56 p.m.

Hi, peeps, happy Friday.

I am happy to say that the manager I thought wasn't nice at the new job when I had contact with him the one time actually is a very nice, friendly human being. So far, only one person at new workplace isn't a nice person, and he works back in the stockroom, so hopefully, I will rarely have contact with him. It could be that he's just painfully shy, but he's also very frowny, so it really comes off as just being an arrogant jerk, at least so far. Everyone else is very nice, though. I met a new guy today who was hilarious and is actually a little older than me. He wears 80's eyeliner and has a quick sense of humor and is really outgoing. Sadly, he works in the music department, so I probably won't see much of him, either.

I'm kinda missing tv. The new place is extremely structured, so all my breaks and lunches and what time I switch tasks are all spelled out minute by minute on a daily schedule every day. It sort of redefines micromanagement and makes me long for the days of not having to punch a timeclock and being able to go to lunch or take a break when I feel like it or am actually hungry, rather than when someone else decides I am. TV, for all it's serious personality faults, tends to leave you to perform or not perform on your own. You have deadlines, and it's up to you how you meet them and what you do in the meantime. I had forgotten what it's like being a true hourly employee, punching a timeclock and having to account for every minute of your time during the work day. Dealing with it again is really very nearly enough to drive me back to reality tv. Especially when the day I took the current job, no fewer than 3 people I'd worked for in the past emailed me with job offers. ::sigh:: I didn't burn any bridges, though. I told them all that I would love to work with them again, but at the moment, I'm tied up until July 8. That gives me 2 months to find out whether or not I can hack what is basically a minimum wage job and whether or not I like it and want to stick with it. Especially since it turns out that even though I get benefits, I can't actually afford them on what the job pays. Which really pretty much sucks. :(

Aside from that, everything's fine, if tiring. Most of the people I dealt with today were really nice, even when I screwed up a time or two (or thought I did, since once, I just thought I did, but it still slowed everything down). Only 2 people were asses who looked down their noses at me, but even those two were such schmucks about it that it took supreme force of will not to tell 'em where they could shove it. I have never in my life treated a waiter, gas station guy, janitor, ditch digger or store clerk (just to name a few "menial" jobs off my sleep-deprived head) like they were anything less than I just because they work for less money or even weren't necessarily on the ball brain-wise, so I really get pissed off at assholes who treat me that way. Which is one of the biggest reasons I quit waiting tables. I just got really tired of people's snobbish bullshit. I work with a girl who has a masters in something that right now I forget but involves something having to do with the body and how it works. She got into retail working her way through college and just came back to it a few months ago while she takes a break from her career, which is high-stress and burned her out a little. She's probably way smarter than 98% of the people who come into the store, and I'll bet you even money has more education that at least half of them, but that doesn't stop some of them from dealing her crap and talking down to her just because they aren't getting their way with something or couldn't find a book in the cooking section (and no, I'm not kidding; some bitchy lady got all up in her face over a frigging *cookbook* today). But still she smiles and is overwhelmingly nice to them and doesn't talk smack after they leave, which is more than I can say for them, and which should be a lesson to them, had they an iota of respect for other people. An honest living is an honest living. And sometimes the person behind the counter is way the hell smarter and nicer than YOU are. They just have that job because they're getting their masters, building their own business, writing a book, want a break from their high-stress careers, or just happen to like books and/or people. And that's all I'm going to say on the matter, but it's entirely possible I'm really just NOT cut out for retail.

Plus, plastic bags are really hard to open.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1