the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2006 - 9:54 p.m.

So, without much warning last night, the housemate pops out with why don't I go to France for 2 months this summer. Then 2 became 3, hell, why not 6, and now I am researching living in France for the last half of this year, because he is serious, and I am not one to look a gifthorse in the mouth. If he wants to pay my bills here and living expenses in Paris for six months, I am all up in that, thank you very much. I'll worry about life when I get back. It's not like I'll be in any worse shape then than now, anyway. If I have to move home, I have to move home. Alas. At least I will have the benefit of 6 long, relaxing months in the city I love more than any place else. Not to mention, you guys will get to read about it.

Now, I realize that sounds a tad narcissistic, but think about it: no more Katie going ape over politics. No more boring, "I hate when this happens" posts. (well, okay, but they will be "je n'adore pas quand ce fait" posts about crazy French stuff, and won't that be infinitely more interesting then the plain brown American wrapper you're used to?) It will be all "Today I went to la Place de Concorde and took pictures of the fountains" - along *with* said picture of the fountains. And like, ex-pat-living-in-France and look how insane these crazy Frenchmen are, but check out that view, huh?! type stuff. Museums! Art! The subway! Food and wine and did I mention food?! Not to mention the lessons to be learned about what not to do when living in France. The possibilities are endless. Perhaps French garbage disposals handle artichokes and salmon skin much more tidily than American garbage disposals. How are we to know, if we don't try, people?! I am thinking only of you, my loyal readers and faithful friends. Let's find out!!!

Now I just need to figure out a way to make more money before I go, because I don't want the housemate to pay for all of it, not to mention a little money I can tuck away for petty cash will be good. I have a feeling this expedition is going to be pretty bare bones, coz it's looking like housing and tuition - assuming I go the easier study-abroad route - is going to cost around $20K. Before food. That's a lotta money. I sure as hell couldn't do it on my own, but I don't want to have to ask for money every time I want to do something (like say, go to Versailles to see the gardens), and I'll probably burn thru 2 carnees of Metro tickets a week unless I end up living within walking distance of school, and that adds UP. So I need to squirrel away as much everyday money as possible before I go, and since work is winding down and I haven't lined a new one up yet, that's a scary thought. I only have around $600 in savings at the moment, plus whatever I get back from the IRS this year, which will probably only be around $3or400. I spent around $1000 when I was there for 5 weeks in 2003, so you can see how I'm concerned about saving up.

At any rate, that's what's going on right now. Is it a tad ostrich-like, in that it does not address certain present and future concerns in my life? Yes. But I have spent my entire life saying no to stuff like this because it just didn't seem like I could or should do it right at that time, and frankly, I've missed out on a lot of cool stuff that way, and a few things I'm still kicking myself for. Like the time I passed up the chance to sing with an accomplished jazz combo in exchange for totally free studio time and a demo cd. Or the time I passed up an entire summer in Greece. FOR FREE. Or the time I put off going to London for a year until the opportunity was lost. Cool chances like this don't come along that often for most of us. I don't want to keep passing them up because they're scary or the timing isn't ideal or there are smarter things I should be doing. I've passed up fun for safer or smarter my whole life. I don't want to do that anymore. I'm goin' to France. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1