the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, May. 09, 2006 - 4:27 p.m.

Hello, peeps -

I am supposed to be working right now, but as I have hit the quota for the day, and even though I really hate people who only do the quota, my lack of motivation is far greater than my hatred of slacking; thus, the slackage I am currently engaging in. Because slackage? She is fun. And cool coworker #1 feels I should do more of it, anyway. Plus, we're pretty much caught up with the workload. So damn it, I refuse to feel guilty for slacking.

Much, anyway.

Thank you for all the good advice on the flying. Or rather, the riding while someone else does the flying. I'm starting to get a little excited about going. :) Also anxious as all hell, but that will go away once I get there, I'm sure.

I still have to buy a new digital camera. Something with at least 7.1 megapixels, so that I can work on the book. Did you know a megapixel is 1,000,000 pixels? Now you do. :)

Let's see...it's been a while since we rapped. What can we talk about?

How about some random musings from the last several weeks? (not all of which are political)

I bet the CIA really fucking hates Donald Rumsfeld and the rest of the Bushies who are blaming the catastrophe of Iraq on them.

Dear CIA-Person:
I believe you did your job. I believe you did it correctly. I do not, in any way, hold you responsible for the invasion, occupation, and subsequent failures in Iraq or the "intelligence failures" the administration claim went down. I know where the blame lies, and it is not with you.
Have a nice day,
Katie.
ps. I'm sorry you had to deal with that whole Porter Goss thing. Good luck with the next guy. I hope it's not Hayden.

Is anyone else out there as terrified as I am about this whole Hayden nomination and Bush & Negroponte's plan to empty out most of the CIA and turn what's left over to military intelligence at the Pentagon? Can I just say what a horrendously bad idea that is? I am not exaggerating when I say the thought of the military gathering its own intelligence and making its own case for war is terrifying. The CIA does some scary shit, but it doesn't really get to act on a global scale. The Pentagon does. Not to mention, the whole not spying on Americans thing. We found out the hard way what the Pentagon's views on that are. For it to be able to do whatever the hell it wants anywhere in the world with no oversight and no one to call it on its bullshit is really, really scary. Why don't be just come up with our cool symbol for world domination now and start painting it everywhere. Let's see...sicle's been taken. So has the swastika...hm. We could just stick with the star within a circle we already paint on everything, I suppose. Sure.

BTW, in case you missed it, John Negroponte, the guy who pretty much oversees the intelligence agencies in this country, was the guy who said of the decisions he made without presidential knowledge or approval during that whole Iran-Contra thing that Ollie North took the fall for, that some deeds were just beyond presidential consideration; some things are just so reprehensible that they just have to be done without ever telling the president about them, so he had done them. Without answering to anyone. That was his job.

Yeah. That's the guy I want running *anything*.

Now imagine an entire 5-mile square building full of people who feel the American public really shouldn't be bothered with knowing what's going on, making the same decisions Negroponte did.

Awesome.

I'm reading The DaVinci Code because I got this book called Walking the DaVinci Code in Paris, and it was interesting enough that I thought perhaps I should read the actual novel. I have to say, I can see why it's gotten so popular. It's a fun read. So now I am also playing the Google Quest game based on the book, as well, and that too is fun. Except I wish I'd realized the puzzles were time-based before I left several of them to go do things like talk on the phone. (sigh) Oh well. It'll be fun to go thru several of the places in the book when I get to Paris. I already know some of them well enough to picture them while I'm reading, anyway. Which is also cool. Man, I wish I could live in Paris for ever. I so love that city. I really do.

I wish I could get a dog, but right now my life is just way too up in the air. I feel lonely a great deal of the time right now, and a dog would help. I also feel sad, and a dog would help that, too.

Let's face it: there's not a whole helluva lot a dog *doesn't* help.

This is a long entry. I will not take it well if Diaryland eats it. I think I will do a copy right now.

I work with Jonny-C right now, and it's very fun. We go have lunch most every day and we IM a lot. Our desks face each other, so we get to see each other's expressions when we IM something particularly horrifying, which is just damn funny. He is also the person I now pester with my Ice Ice Baby lyrics every other day.

Actually, Ice Ice Baby is no longer the daily vent song. That would now be something by Abba. For some reason, Abba soothes my reality-tortured spirit right now more than anything else does. Though for a while there, it was BNL's "Pinch Me" and yesterday it was Liz Phair's "Why Can't I?". Mostly though, it's either Dancin' Queen, Mamma Mia, or Take a Chance On Me. Today I am having mellow, 13 Going On 30 soundtrack day, however. So while I appreciate the great JC's tunage, I am good with my own.

I wish Em had AIM on her home computer. I haven't talked to her in weeks. Not really.

I talk to my french friend Sofy every day now, though. She corrects what she perceives as my atrocious french spelling skills, but I think that's kind of unfair, considering this is an american computer, and a mac, to boot, and I don't know what the supersecret keystroke combinations are to make it type an accent grave or cedille. So it's really not my fault.

It makes me absurdly pleased when I go to terminate my iTunes and find out someone not Jonny C is connected to them. It's like validation for my taste in music. Which is pretty ridiculous, when you get down to it.

I do NOT either need approval from others. Shut up.

;)

One Good Move has some hysterical vidio snippets up this week. I had a rollicking good lunch during which I guffawed several times. Go see. :)

I have to get dental insurance and dental work done. I am not happy, but I really don't think I can put it off until I get back. This sucks, because it's really going to eat into my Paris money. As did the $300 I just had to spend on new glasses, and I haven't even purchased contacts yet. That bites it.

At least my eyes are healthy.

I wish I had boatloads of money, all mine. I hate people who have tons of money and like to walk around pontificating on how if you work hard, you too can have what they have, that people like me just don't put the effort in. I sorta wanna strangle them. The woman this show is about is one of them. If I could tell you how she got to where she is in the world, you'd want to strangle her, too. If I had half her gall, I'd put a paypal button on this site and shamelessly pester the crap out of people for their money. Obviously I don't have that kind of gall, or I'd sell more jewelry. Oh well.

(sigh) I should go do more work.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1