the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Jul. 29, 2006 - 4:58 p.m.

You know those songs you kinda like and really hate, all at the same time? Yeah.

This video runs every so often on french channel 1. The entire thing. I guess Sony finds music videos pay off as commercials, because there are at least 2 different videos (by different singers) every week. Right now, there's this, a truly horrendous french remake of an old 60s or 70s song, "Sealed With a Kiss," and a song by a young lady that I swear is pulling a Milli Vanilli, because she sounds EXACTLY like Avril Levigne. Like seriously, every single time it comes on, I think it's Avril. It's definitely a knock off of Avril's big song about how it's a damn cold night, because the beginning is virtually identical.

But anyway. This song is called "Roc," and the line is, "I'm solid comme un roc," which means I'm solid as a rock. I tend to think of it as "Solid, Comma, Rock," and when you listen to it, you'll know why. It's also insidiously peppy when you hear it every day, so while a huge part of me despises it with the white hot intensity of a thousand suns, there's also this little part of me that walks around humming "solid, comma, rock" under my breath.

::sigh:: I scare myself, sometimes.

I went all the way across Paris to get Em a bead to replace the one she lost in her bracelet I made her a few years ago, during the tragedy of B7. I didn't find what I was looking for, but I got a cool Murano glass bead to sub for it, as well as these neat dichroic cube beads and some other Murano beads. I have one other place to see if they have the bead I want in the right color. It would be nice if so. The Murano is pretty, but not really the right bead for that bracelet.

I had a post earlier, about why I know how to say "La chasse d'eau ne fonctionne pas bien," but Internet Explorer ate it, so I will have to try again later. I haven't the heart, seeing as it was rather long, and I had reached the end of it when whatever caused IE to page back happened. That's the one thing I like about Macs....if I accidentally page back using a mac, I can page forward again and my entry is still there. Good ol' mac. I miss you a little.

My fridge smells like ham sandwiches. While this is not an unpleasant odor, it does get old, fast. Plus, it makes me hungry.

I watched this tonight, with the sound off and reading lips, and yes, it is every bit as bad as it sounds. Em, we have to rent it; it's insanely mock-worthy.

And finally, I took this from my kitchen window, using my suitcase as a tripod and contorting my body to get the shot. Oo, ah.

Peace out,
Katie

ps. Gah! Snood!

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1