the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Mar. 30, 2006 - 11:34 p.m.

Good discussion started by Golfwidow here. Go. Read. Discuss.

Job hunting yet again. Hating it. Let's not talk about it. The 2 measley days I put in at work this week really sucked bong water. I can't wait to bid that hell hole adieu.

Speaking of, I really can't wait to go to France. It truly will be a sabbatical and one I desperately need. I need to find me, again. I need to remember the good things about me and to learn to like me again. And I think 6 months in a foreign country is just the ticket. The fact that I will also be out of reach of certain of my family members is just icing on the cake. But I have to find a job quick, because if I can't save $7000, I can't go for 6 months, and frankly, I really desperately need that 6 months. Please cross your fingers the consulate agrees with me and says yes, Katie, you may come to France for 6 months and spend all your money here while not costing the country one cent; we like you people who do that.

I have $1808.90 of the $7000 I need, btw. If anyone here has ever sold stuff on an online sales or auction site, I'd love to hear from you. I'm wondering about doing that and which one is the best to go with. Anyone here ever use Yahoo Auctions??? Sound off, please, those of you who have sold anywhere, especially if you sold fashion items.

Speaking of jewelry, I have an order to fill, and I was buying satin cord for it today, which meant I had to go to the bead store I rarely frequent, because their prices are too high, but they had the cord I needed. I used to shop there all the time, so I know all the people pretty well, and when I was in there just before Christmas, I found out one of the counter girls had just been diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I added her to my $500M wish list.

Reyna was my favorite person at the store. She always had a quick smile and said hello and goodbye. She was almost perpetually in a good mood and was really friendly and helpful. She made beautiful jewelry and was always happy to discuss designs and color combinations with me, and she always pointed out what was new since I'd been in last. She was a beautiful, gentle person, and it makes me horrendously sad this happened to her. She'd been diagnosed in November, so I was really unprepared for the news. Four months isn't really a very long time, and I had really hoped she'd beat it, despite how sick she'd been the last time I saw her, just before Christmas. She died on Monday. She was 35.

Ladies, next time you go to the ob-gyn - and I know you're going at least once a year, just like you should be, right? - ask for the CA-125 blood test to check for cancer antigens. And don't mess around if your doctor recommends an ultrasound when she palpates your ovaries. 35 is way too young to die over something like cancer. Especially when it could have been detected early enough to do something about it.

And that's my PSA for the day.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1