the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Mar. 27, 2006 - 6:21 p.m.

So, Friday, I came perilously close to quitting my job. Anyone with an iota of self-respect would have. Me, my self-respect generally tends to take a backseat to paying bills, so I didn't. But I really, really wanted to. Em had to talk my ass down and back into my chair. Then Sybil apologized for being her, and I continued typing. But that half hour that I was out in the hall on my cell phone? Oh yeah; I totally put that on my timecard.

I was taking bets on how long the Harvard graduate who works with Sybil would last, and she beat all the odds and quit before even *I* thought she would, and I had the lowest guess. She told me it's just a little too...chaotic. I told her dysfunctional was the word I thought she was searching for, and then introduced her to Hershey's miniatures and crunchy Skippy peanut butter. I discovered on Thursday night that she'd never had Hershey's and peanut butter, and since that is just incomprehensible to me, and since Friday was our last day working together, I went to the kitchen and grabbed the jar of Skippy, and we had dark chocolate miniatures and peanut butter together after everyone else left, and I am happy to say that while she initially viewed the whole concept with no small amount of suspicion, she is now a total convert. All hail, the mighty peanut butter. And, you know, chocolate. :)

All the cool people at workplace keep leaving. They are also all the people who don't think I'm a freak and with whom I enjoy sharing space, so it's a major bummer.

I've kinda had a headache since Friday. The lady at the French consulate with whom I need to make an appointment to turn in all my paperwork for my longstay visa will not return any of my calls, and I need to get in to see her by Friday. I'm a little tense.

Last week some time, I was standing in line at Fatburger, and I felt someone standing close to me, so I looked over my shoulder and made eye contact with the guy, who goes, "Hey; how you doin'?" I'm like fine, and you? He goes, "pretty good. Are you an actor?" I said not any more, and he said oh, but you used to be, and I said yeah, but my agent quit, and I dropped out. So he said that was too bad, coz he was casting an indy film, and I was just what he was looking for for one of the characters. So I said well, I'd be happy to audition for you, and he said okay and asked me to send my headshot and resume. I read for it today and got the part. It's just one scene, but it should be fun. The scene is sort of a fantasy-satire kind of thing, and when I was reading it with the director, who is also the lead, I laughed twice. It might actually turn out to be pretty funny. :) There's talk of Sundance and stuff like that, so we'll see. It's a docudramedy, sort of like This Is Spinal Tap, but based on reality and with documentary footage worked in. When I first read the scene, I thought omg, this is horrible. Then he explained it was supposed to be funny, and it is, so I feel good about it.

And that's all I got. I want to go lay down. Or maybe eat. Or eat and lay down. My head really hurts. MP sent me photos of my apartment building in Paris today(!), so I'll probably post those tomorrow. :) The lease came today, too, so I sign it and send it back, and it's all happily cemented. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1