the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Oct. 18, 2002 - 1:11 a.m.

Whew, shove that Lola down in a box. I gave her Hostess chocolate cupcakes, so she quieted down. It was touch and go for a while, though. Good thing that cream filling is an excellent tranquilizer. Just to be on the safe side, I shoved some Twinkies in to her earlier this evening, just after dinner. So for now, she's pretty quiet.

There's nothing uglier than overgrown insecurity.
Okay. So I have learned adults are nasty, vile little creatures when they are in school. Insecurities I'm sure they had in high school re-rear their ugly little heads with a vengeance - and 30 years or so to make up for - when they go back to school. And for the record, that dig was totally uncalled for and just plain spiteful. I was pretty pissed off about it until I figured out what I'd done to earn it, and if that woman is that fucking insecure, she can kiss my ass, and I'm GLAD I hurt her feelings. Is that the Buddhist way? No, it's the Katie way, and damn happy for all its unenlightenment. The very first class, she not only sucked, she made a big deal after class about how awful and hard it was. I very nicely offered to help her if she wanted. I didn't judge her or think she was stupid. I just figured it was important to her to do well, and it was easy for me, so why not offer. Apparently, however, that was seen as arrogant. She didn't say anything about it at the time, but boy did she smack the shit out of me with it this week - halfway thru the semester AND in front of a room full of people. Which, frankly, is uncalled for. Bitchslap my ass outside if you must, but don't fucking do it in front of 35 other people. That's just fucking rude.

Elephants Are Painters, Too
So, I saw this really cool story on elephant art. Yep. A coupla artists got together and decided to teach art to elephants in Indonesia. The pachyderms paint with their trunks. It's pretty cool, actually, because the money they earn from the sale of their art actually goes to support the elephants, which is important, because there are quite a few elephants unemployed in Indonesia these days, and they and their keepers are homeless and starving. There's a pretty good article about it here. I personally feel if you're gonna buy elephant art, you should make sure it benefits The Asian Elephant Art & Conservation Project, because these are the guys working to save unemployed and homeless pachyderms. (boy, how silly does THAT sentence sound?)

Get Involved
You know how every few days I feel compelled to rant about the government's bullshit? Write your congressman here. While you're at it, refamiliarize yourself with this. And this.

Don't leave home without it.
Did you know it only costs $20 to join the ACLU and become a bonafide card-carrying member, with all the clout and power to strike fear into the heart of rabid Conservatives everywhere? Yeah, baby!

Actually, I have spent most of my life viewing the ACLU has an overly zealous, entirely too liberal, extremist organization only slightly above organized religion - Southern Baptists in particular - in their overly ambitious and blind-to-justice-and-common-sense quest to ensure the Constitution be upheld to every last very literal letter. So it really chaps my ass to side with them now, let alone be thankful they're around and to actually be joining them. My father is turning over in his grave. Or, you know, would be, if he were dead.

And on a lighter note, let's do The List.

Top 10 Songs Ever Written (That I'm Familiar With):
1. Let It Be - John Lennon & Paul McCartney. What can you possibly say that hasn't already been said?
2. All of Me - Seymour Simons & Gerald Marks. And nobody sang it like Billie.
3. Penny Lane - Lennon & McCartney. Again...
4. Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen; as sung by Jeff Buckley. Damn.
5. Clarinet Concerto KV 622: Adagio - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Technically, a piece of music. Sue me.
6. Goodnight, Saigon - Billy Joel.
7. Wishing That - Jann Arden Richards
8. Fair - Remy Zero
9. Salisbury Hill - Peter Gabriel.
10. In My Life - Lennon & McCartney. As only the Beatles could do it.

Songs that Will Eat Into Your Brain (And That Ain't a Good Thing):
1. Too Shy Shy - Kajagoogoo. God, I hate that song.
2. Chickety China the Chinese Chicken - Bare Naked Ladies. I know that's not the name of the song. I don't care. It's a stupid song.
3. That damn 60's song about goin' up country tell me if you wanna go that is currently being used for a fricking laundry commercial. And if I find the moron who thought that was a good idea, I'm going to beat him senseless with a very big, very heavy object.
4. Beat It - Michael Jackson. Personally, this song doesn't bug me that much, but it drives my friend Jon absolutely insane.
5. The Glory of Love - Chicago
6. Does Your Mother Know - ABBA. Damn it; just thinking of it, it's stuck in my head now. Crap.

That saves you guys, though. I can't think of another one now. It's all over but the fat lady. :sigh:

Good night.

KatieD.

ps. Oct. 18/19 - Add song #7, I Wanna Dance with Somebody - Whitney Houston, courtesy of Mimi Smartypants, because now I have it in my head and it will NOT go away. :(

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1