the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Jul. 27, 2006 - 2:06 p.m.

I did not get the job. :( I'm pretty disappointed, actually.

Isabelle Adjani is luminous. I really don't think there's another word for her. I don't know what the title is, but everyone is very pale, it's set in like 1700's Paris (at least as far as I can tell from my woefully inadequate knowledge of historical french fashion), and Isabelle is luminous. LUMINOUS!

They have That's Incredible on the air here, but it's called "Incroyable! Mais Vrais," or, Incredible! But True. Right now it's a blonde model with one arm. Since she's working in the US, that *is* incredible...

I just realized I've been here 2 weeks already and only have 10 left. :( I better get on it. The time has just flown.

I decided I totally don't apologize for sounding grumpy. I'm a little depressed and a lot isolated. I'm doing my best not to be sad, but I am. This blog is a record of my trip and what I'm thinking for me, and not for anyone else. It's nice people care enough to read it, and I frankly don't want you to stop; I love getting comments, especially now that I'm totally alone every day and only 2 of my friends and the housemate are writing me email every day. I love Paris. I'm thrilled as hell to be here. But I'm not going to start every entry with "Gosh, Paris is GREAT!" and only hit the high notes. That wouldn't be an accurate record, nor would it represent what living in Paris is like. Getting caught in a hugeass storm and coming home to wet carpet is part of that. So is a cableguy who never shows and frustration at not being able to speak french fluently enough to get change for the damn washer. I'm sorry if some of you find that upsetting or in someway unappreciative of my situation, but I am not going to make a point every day of remarking on my incredible dinner and how lucky I know I am. That would be like thanking my boss every day for my job - it'd get old really quickly, for both him and me. I'm paying for this trip with money I worked hard for and sacrificed to have, so it's not like this was a gift from someone else. I borrowed some money from the housemate and could not do it without his help, but again, I'm paying him back. So it's my money and my trip, and I'll cry if I want to! ;) Anyway, YOU try going without a phone for weeks, without even a hint of when you might be able to get one and totally unable to control that in any way for yourself, and then, frankly, we'll talk about your experience, and you can cry to me about it, but don't judge my ass until you've been without a phone and whatever form of entertainment you need to unwind and get your bearings again at the end of the day in a foreign country where you aren't at least half-fluent in the language. :)

These entries will sometimes be angsty. I still love Paris, I still love being here, I'm happy as freaking hell. Now let's all just lighten up and go back to our regularly scheduled blog reading, shall we? :)

XO and peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1