the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2006 - 12:04 a.m.

Here's one example of the fuckedupedness of Chey Doyle and Jack Doyle, in particular.

When my oldest brother and I were but wee tykes, my parents used to put money away in savings for us on our birthdays and at Christmas, along with any monies gifted to us by various and sundry relatives. Some decades ago, my father took $1000 out of each of our accounts and used it to purchase 2 mutual funds, one for each of us, in our names. I had no idea this money existed, because my parents divorced at long last when I was 15/16, and my mother's shuyster attorney had managed to con her into giving him power of attorney and then absconded with all of her money and flew down to Mexico - along with every other woman's he was representing in a divorce, the fucker. Among the various financial documents he fled with were the papers having to do with these 2 mutual funds. The company had changed ownership, and Mom couldn't remember the name of the new DBA, and anyway, she figured the money was long spent, since her asshole attorney had the power to access it.

Fastforward to this Saturday, February 18th. I return home from friends' to find a message on the answering machine from my father, informing me I need to call him at once to verify my social security number and that I will need to provide him with copies of my social security card, as well as my current driver's license, so that he can recover a Manhattan Fund the state of Texas has "taken" from him.

From him.

A Neuberger Berman Manhattan Fund, to be precise. Worth I don't know how much money, but probably a fair amount, since it was invested quite some time ago. Not so long as to have become a mighty oak, by any means, but it's not exactly a $1000 acorn, either. Unless the stock market fall of 2001 or 2, whenever that was, caused it to fall as well, which is possible, since my mom lost nearly everything she had in the crash, and my 401K also bottomed out. But I digress. It's my money. It was to be my college money. Money I did not get because my father is a fucking asshole and hid all his assets during the divorce and refused to turn over what little the judge ordered him to...which was *all* my college money and that of my baby brother, as well as child support he never paid a fucking lick of. Which was just wonderful when I was having to pay for every little thing at school, every gallon of gas I ride-shared with the girl next door so I wouldn't have to walk to school in the mornings, and when I got out of school at 1pm every day without lunch and walked the 5 fucking miles home, rain or fucking shine, in Texas heat-index and wind-chill, and especially when, 2 or 3 months before high school graduation, my mother snapped "I hope you're planning on going to UTA, because I can't pay for you to go to college," one afternoon, thus shooting down the dreams of UCLA or USC film school I had had since I was a kid. It would have been nice to have that money while I was trying to work and pay for college, and a college I didn't want to attend, at that.

I called my mom yesterday to find out what he was prattling on about, and she flipped. She explained the whole deal and told me that's my money, and how dare my father try to steal it from me again, and frankly, I have to say I agree. So I get to call the state of Texas tomorrow and try to find out what the deal is, and that should be fun, because according to the unclaimed property site, the money doesn't exist. And I have no idea how much it is, and no, I'm not going to call my father, because he will guilt my ass into letting him have it, and frankly, I fucking need it. That fucker has never been there for me. He's paid for all kinds of shit for both my brothers, as well as my adult stepsister (he helped fund her PRIVATE fucking college tuition), 3 adult stepbrothers (he just married my stepmom like 9 years ago, and all her kids were already grown, the youngest one being my 20 year old stepsister), and a cousin or two. The biggest fucking favor he did for me was cosign a loan so I could buy my car, and I paid that fucker back, with interest, and I was only 2 months late doing it, having twice in 5 years gotten a deferment. Don't get me wrong, I appreciated the cosign, but I have sat by over the years and watched him give money to all kinds of fucking people while he lauded my wonderful sense of independent responsibility, and goddamn it, the fucker can give me money that was intended for me in the first place. And according to my mom, was money that was given TO ME as Christmas and birthday presents, anyway. I'm not even going into all the other financial shit he's pulled on both me and my brothers over the years, including a piece of property he stole from us and sold, which had been going to net each of us $45K and would have made a nice beginning to my nestegg. So no, Dad, you may not have copies of my driver's license and social security card. And no, I am not calling you long distance on my dime to help you get my money.

I need this shit like I need another hole in my head.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1