the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2006 - 8:21 p.m.

Sorry about yesterday's post, but work was pretty awful.

I got a piggy bank for Christmas from my friend Sofy in Montpellier (the one in France, not Vermont). It arrived today with the note that if I start saving now, perhaps I can be in France this summer. :) The funny thing is, I was just sitting at work today thinking the very same thing. And also that maybe I can sell enough jewelry to put me there, which would be nice. :)

So, I've been having teeth grinding issues, which I think I mentioned. (Or I deleted that entry, which is entirely possible...) So I went shortly before Christmas to buy this, (sexy, no?) which did not want to stay put and sort of aggravated the misalignment in my bite. So I traded it for this version, which frankly, was like a medieval torture device. Seriously. Even on the smallest setting, it was too big, and frankly, if there's one way to ensure pain and a poor night's sleep, it's to cram copious amounts of plastic into a mouth too small to accomodate it, and then lie down for 8 hours and let all that rigid material fit itself into whatever nook or cranny it prefers...which will most likely be at the base of your gums. It was fairly excruciating and had to go.

So I traded it in for this. Which comes in 3 sizes, but the size actually long enough for my mouth was nothing short of huge, so I tried the medium, which according to my height, should have fit, but that too was too large, though at least I could close my mouth around it...mostly. So then I went for the small, which was at least a decent fit and allowed me to close my mouth fairly easily. I actually rather liked it. Except that I molded it a little too aggressively to my teeth, which caused it to exert too much pressure on my incisors and again caused pain. Of the all day variety. So last night, I had to cut a piece out of it so that I could sleep (no easy task, I assure you), and that kinda mucked it up a little, thus encouraging more misalignment.

So on the way home tonight, I returned the rather expensive torture device, and then, on the boyfriend's advice, went to Big 5 and bought a mouthpiece of the sort sports players use. This one, in fact.

For $1.49.

I bought 3.

And it works like a champ. From $75 to $30 to $1.49, and the cheap rubbery football thingie is the best of the bunch. And of the two you have to mold, the easier fit to execute. (albeit not as precise)

Have I mentioned it was $1.49?

Happy.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1