the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Jul. 25, 2007 - 11:26 p.m.

So, I had an appointment with my ob-gyn today.

She doesn't think I'm perimenopausal. Yay.

She does think I had a miscarriage.

Not so much with the yay-ing.

I had to take a few minutes on that one. It was really like a slap in the face. I just blinked for a second while my brain sort of numbly went "oh," then the next thing I knew, my eyes were flooding, and I had to turn to the wall. I held my palm out at her while she was still talking and said, "I'm gonna need a second to deal with that," and I started crying.

She explained how when that happens, it's usually because the fetus was not developing properly, and that's nature's way of dealing with it, and it's really much better happening sooner than later, which I really can't dispute, but that was still really hard to hear. She feels that the fact that I was 3 weeks late, coupled with the wildly swinging hormones, the level of pain I had for that 8 hours, and the extremely heavy flow led her to believe it had been pregnancy. Given the other factors in my life and a few other things I'm not going to get into here, she does not believe I'm in perimenopause. And I myself wondered if I was pregnant when I was running so late. I've never run 3 full weeks late before and have only been 2 weeks late 2 or 3 times in my entire life. My belly felt different (I can't describe it), my breasts were - as I mentioned - painful, and then when I finally started, there were a LOT of clots. Like, to the point that I was like, what the hell was up there? I could go into more gory and graphic detail, but I won't. Suffice to say I do not in any way doubt her theory, and I feel a profound sense of loss.

I also find it supremely ironic that while I was having a phone conversation with my friend Tracey about how I would abort a fetus if I found myself pregnant and unable to care for the child, I was, in fact, pregnant. And let me tell you: there is no way in HELL I would have an abortion. I might talk a tough game, but I'm obviously full of shit. The way I feel over having had a miscarriage, there's no way I could ever walk into a medical facility and purposely pull the plug on a life inside of me. I am an idiot to ever have believed I could.

For 3 weeks or a month or 7 weeks or whatever it was, I had a baby growing inside my body while I was walking around completely clueless to it. That is foreign and freakish and numbing and amazing and incredible and unbelievably sad, all at once.

For the record, my hormones have by and large returned to normal, and I should have another period sometime this week. She's putting me on Yaz birth control pills (which can be purchased upstairs at Eric's, ha ha, and are low dose and contain a diuretic, to help with PMS), I have a complete physical in 2 weeks, and a mammogram sometime in the next 3 months. Oo, ah.

But hey: I'm not perimenopausal. Yay.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1