the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Aug. 17, 2006 - 12:51 p.m.

I swear to heaven, I just saw my apartment on tv. In english. And featuring a very young Diahann Carroll. And you can really see Isabella in her mother's face and hear her in her voice. I think Ingrid Bergman may have actually been a little under-rated in her day. She's really good.

I would like to take this time to say how much I really freaking HATE myspace.

I went to the Orangerie today and looked at Impressionist and Post-Impressionist paintings by Monet, Renoir, Cezanne, Gauguin, Modigliani, Picasso, Henri Rousseau, Utrillo, and Chaim Soutine, among others. Soutine, btw, is probably my most hated painter EVER. And that includes Picasso and Matisse, neither of whom I tolerate well. Marie Laurencin wins the prize for being the most likely to have been on hallucinogenics, though if you find Soutine's works, you'll see why I hate him, and you might feel he should win the coveted Absinthe Award.

I almost cried when I walked into the first waterlilies room. Just to be standing that close to such monumental canvasses by my favorite artist was a bit much. I don't think any artist in history has ever grasped the use of color the way Monet did. I spent quite a long time in those two rooms. You can see all 8 paintings here. Click L'ensemble de l'Orangerie in the image of Monet. The longest one is 17m x 2m.

And apparently, you are not allowed to sit on the floor in the l'Orangerie, even just for the time it takes to position and photograph a small bear, because I totally got yelled at for it. And I do mean I got a scolding. It was embarrassing.

The other paintings are in the basement of the museum, and I almost cried when my batteries went dead right in the middle of photographing the glass and steel ceiling, and then I walk downstairs, and there are these totally cool miniature tableaus of what the Guillaumes' apartment looked like, complete with tiny little artworks and furniture, and I soooo wanted to pose Pete in front of them and couldn't!

After the museum - where the people who worked there were all very nice, btw - I met two very nice Danish people and talked briefly, then came home for laundry while it POURED. Like crazy rain, yo. It was nutty. I was really happy I was inside during the worst of it. Then I came home and ate dinner, watched the movie, started this, and traded emails with my new pal back in the states who also works in tee-vee. Oo! And the cable guy is finally showing up on August 21, and I'm getting a phone on the 24. At least, assuming the guy actually shows up this time. I may just go ahead and shell out the 60 euros for a cell phone, because that's another week, and I don't think he's going to show. If he doesn't, I'm definitely getting a cell. The sucky thing is that it's 50 centimes a minute to use it to call anywhere because I won't have a contract. That's pretty damned expensive. But incoming calls are free. That part is cool.

Anyway, I'm tired and fighting off the urge to eat at 3am, so if you'll excuse me, I think I'll brush my teeth and head to bed.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1