the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Oct. 28, 2007 - 7:34 p.m.

I had a pretty torked weekend. Face's funeral was yesterday. I really wish I could have gone and been there for Kate and honored Face. Instead, I picked up some new friends, J & S, and took 'em to Jonny-C's big C-Street Building Bash for the pagan-y goodness of Halloween. J & S just moved here from the midwest, where they had an active social life, and it's super hard to lay down social roots here in the socially flaky capital of the world, so I figured a big party would be a good place for them to meet new people. And they did meet people they exchanged contact into with, so hopefully, that project was successful. :)

Turns out the party was costume optional, which I didn't realize, so it was quite a surprise to have JC open the door dressed as Britney, wearing a long, bright pink wig, shiny gold spaghetti strap top (with gym socks for boobs), a mini skirt with Cheetoh's bags attached, and flipflops. He completed this ensemble with make-up carefully applied by our friend Jen and a Southern accent in which he informed me that K-Fed had the kids tonight, so he was livin' large. It was pretty hysterical. His sig-o, Tom, was a genie, all in blue. And I do mean blue. Head to toe, skin included. THAT was almost a bigger shock than Jonny-C in a long, bright pink wig and spaghetti strapped gym sock boobs. There were a lot of good costumes there, actually. It was about 50/50, half in costumes and half not. I like parties in that building, because there are always multiple "rooms"; each party hosts' apartment is for something different: Jonny-C's was karaoke, John & Marcella's was food, Ken & Susan's was movies and the bar (and man, was it stocked; it even had a fog machine going and a bloody and decapitated head that was a movie prop), and Mitch's was the "quiet" talking room. Unfortunately, it was kinda toasty last night until after midnight, so I spent most of my time outside, talking, though I also hung out with the singing crowd enough to catch nearly everybody singing once. Specifically, Jonny-C's rendition of Hungry Like the Wolf, which is infamous, and which I had never seen until last night, Jen's Olivia Newton-John, which she does really well, Marcella channelling both Cher (Half-Breed) and Grace Slick (White Rabbit, which was hilarious), Tom singing several songs I don't remember the names of (he used to sing sing, so he's actually good), and a guy whose name I didn't catch who did Piano Man. I actually did not sing my karaoke stand-by, Johnny B. Goode, though I can not tell you why. I did slaughter Patsy Cline's "Crazy" embarrasingly spectacularly, though, as well as "Someone To Watch Over Me," a song that, until last night, I really would have bet you I could sing in my sleep. It was just a generic arrangement of it, though, so I had none of the musical cues I'm used to, and it went horribly, horribly awry. Seriously. It was fairly mortifying. People had to jump in and help. I don't consider myself an actual singer, by any means, but when the whole room has to jump in and help you sing, it's really kind of embarrasing. At least to someone like me, who kind of has to be inebriated to sing in public anyway...

The weather last night was kinda strange. It was sprinkling and seriously overcast when I left, but it never really rained beyond a slight sprinkle early on. It just stayed kinda muggy. Then today, it's warm again, and it seems the Santa Ana winds are picking back up, as of about 7pm this evening. I hope the firefighters have the fires under control, because it seems it's about to get fairly ugly for them again. :(

I don't really have much. It's been super boring. Blah blah blah work. I'll be amazed if I last through the holidays, frankly. Let's just call it at that.

Hey, here are some images I've taken recently, courtesy of Fleekr.

Smoke from the Malibu fire:
77 DANGER!!

The smoke-whitened, ash-filled sky/horizon 3 days later, the same day I fell going up the stairs, whacked my camera on the concrete, and pretty much put it on borrowed time:
Apparently, I Live in a Bong (365.80)

Cymbals!
32 Product Placement

"Paris" by night:
What about this one, Katie?

Happy Halloween. I hope everyone's kids have a safe, happy trick or treat experience.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1