the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Jul. 17, 2006 - 11:20 a.m.

Whew. I finally got internet, after 2 days of complete and utter isolation in my new apartment. I'm glad to have it back, because that was sucking and was really depressing me.

So, where to start? Hm.

I spent the first few days with MP, just staying at her place and doing errands with her. She's moving into her new house, so there was a lot of stuff she needed to get done. I got in here on Sunday night and discovered I totally hate my bathroom and that this place doesn't really cool off well. I hate the bathroom because the tub is unbelievably, uncomfortably small and has the WORST water pressure in the entire world. Not to mention enough hot water to take a 7 minute lukewarm shower, even with turning the water off and only using it to rinse. I can't wait until the cold weather hits and there's even less time than that. I figured out that it's necessary to wash my hair in the kitchen sink, and I have to say, I'm stoked I hacked it all off before leaving home. Also the toilet smells like mildew every time you flush it. Aside from that and the fact I have one whole pan to cook in, I like my new digs. I'll take pictures so you can tell how small it is later, but from the front edge of my love seat sofa to the bathroom door is about 6.5 feet, and it's about 9 feet from the front door to the window directly across from it. The entire place would pretty much fit in my bedroom back home. Once I figure out how to stow everything though, that'll be fine. I need another cook pan and a laundry hamper, and I really wish both of those things weren't like 40 euros each, because frankly, that sucks. I asked my landlord for another pan, but I'm counting my blessings just to have a fan, so I'm not going to grouse about the lack of a pan it's too hot to use right now anyway, I suppose. Still, there's not a lot you can cook with only one pan. I need one to boil pasta in, damn it!

Know what's weird? No one official knows I'm here. The Brits didn't have me fill anything out or even ask to see my passport at Heathrow, and no one seemed to give a damn in Paris, either. One guy took a cursory glance at my passport as I passed thru to baggage claims, as opposed to last time, when I had to grab my luggage and then stand in a line with the frowny-faced customs agent who demanded to see my return plane ticket and busted my chops about why I was there. I could stay here for a year, for all anyone apparently cares. They certainly don't know when I got here. It's bizarre. I ran into a couple from Philly on the Metro, and they flew into CDG direct from the States, and they said no one checked theirs, either. We all thought it was pretty strange.

Also, are you guys aware the US is aggressively advertising for people here to apply for green cards in the green card lottery? Frankly, it's pissing me off. I can't load any web page - including my yahoo mail - without a barrage of ads urging me to apply for a green card. What the fuck is up with that?

So, I went to see the fireworks for the Fete Nationale near the Eiffel Tower on the 14th, the night after I got here. I wish I could rave it was awesome, but I was so exhausted, I spent most of it struggling to stay upright and not pass out. Literally. I was swaying on my feet the entire time, just praying I wouldn't either throw up or pass out. Thankfully, God was nice and obliging. The few bursts that actually made it into my consciousness were very nice, though. I just wish I'd been lucid enough to really enjoy it.

Saturday I went to see Superman Returns and found it mostly enjoyable and entertaining, if not the most awesome movie of all time. It was in English though, which was nice. The only English tv I've had has been an episode of The Actor's Studio with Nicholas Cage. My cable isn't going to be fixed until next Tuesday. Although, at the moment, the box is actually showing the time of day instead of flashing "init" for the first time since I got here. Unfortunately, I have no idea how to work it, so um...yeah. I have discovered that when it comes to the original Law & Order, I don't suck too horrendously at reading lips. Unfortunately, that seems to be the only show where people don't speed thru their lines. Sitcoms like Frazier and Will & Grace are a lost cause. But that one episode of L&O, I was a champ, baby. I could actually follow the episode. And David Caruso is annoying in any language.

I spent Sunday night freaking out I was all by myself with no 'net, no phone, and everything was closed, so I couldn't buy anything but a Diet Coke at the nearby gas station. About 16 oz. for 1,45 euros....which is roughly $2. Wow. Yesterday, I went grocery shopping and stocked up on cold stuff like sandwiches, cheese and baguette, because I discovered Sunday night, it's waaaayyyy too hot to cook. That was also how I discovered the non-stick pan is trashed, only I didn't realize it until I went to rinse the pan afterward. I spent 200 euros and i still don't have everthing I need. It's scary how expensive certain things are. The food is the least of my worries. I know how to eat cheap. But the stuff you need for things like laundry and cleaning your bathroom are ridiculous.

Today I called the housemate to let him know I was okay, and he solved my internet dilemma, to my eternal and overwhelming appreciation. I had to buy 2 English-language newspapers today, so i could find out exactly what the hell is going on in Lebanon. Also, I hope the family I met on the second flight did not lose any family or their home in Jakarta in the tsunami Tuesday. :(

I also bought a keychain with a little flashlight that says "Paris" on it, so it'll be easier to find my key in the bottom of my bag. And *that* was only 5 euros. It's goofy, souvenirs aren't that expensive, but the things you need to live here are. Pretty much the opposite of home. After that, I went to the courtyard of the Palais Royale and took photographs of the very ugly columns and the fountains with the big silver balls. The pictures might be cool. If so, I'll post one or two. Once that was done, it was really hot and I was sunburned, so I came home to discover I have internet! I checked mail and wrote you guys, and now I really have to eat some baguette and cheese. :) I wish I'd bought that 2 euro bottle of wine at the store yesterday...I'm thinking even cheap French wine probably doesn't suck. I'll have to let you know.

Once my guide book gets here (I had to leave it behind in the interest of weight and not breaking my back), I'll be able to find my way around, which will rock. Till then, I don't know what I'm doing tomorrow, but Thursday I'm having lunch with MP and then probably going to tour the Chateau Vincennes, which I think is near her work. Pete might come along for that. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1