the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Oct. 13, 2006 - 1:08 p.m.

It's 10pm, and it is waaaaaaay past my bedtime.

I went to the Centre de la Mer today, which is an aquarium run by the Oceanic Institute of Paris. What's really interesting about it is that it's an independent institution which is recognized by the government of France as it's own entity, with statutory authority. It was established in 1906, by Prince Albert 1 of Monaco, and there's another branch in Monaco. I expected something more along the lines of Aquarium of the Pacific, with big aquarium walls, but it's really just 5 tanks, although one of them is pretty big and takes up a short wall. It's divided into 4 sections about 4' wide each. The tanks all have coral in them, which was cool, and lots of brightly colored fish. And one of the tanks is a round one with jellies. Or at least, one type of jellyfish. There's supposed to be a touch-pool, but I didn't see it.

I actually liked the smaller fish better, but there were some cool ones in the bigger fish tanks, too. I liked the adorable tiny little clown fish looking fish, and there were some really cool light aqua blue fish that were iridescent purple and greenish, depending on how the light hit them, that were really pretty, but they were also really hard to photograph. For some reason, they all look blurry in pictures. Couldn't tell you why; the clown fish right next to them are totally in focus. I got to see clown fish hanging out in a big anemone, too. Cool. :) There was one big fish in the big tank that really didn't like Pete. He kept dishin' him 'tude. It was kinda funny. And in the first tank, there was a fish that would bump the glass so hard with his nose (on purpose), that you could totally hear it thump, even standing 3' away from it. And he was only maybe 6" long, so that was pretty impressive. I was pretty shocked the first time it happened, but he did it several times while I was there, so it was actually him making the noise. He was in the same tank with this big grouper-looking fish that just hung out face to face with Pete, totally unphased there was this big blob right in his face wearing an I-heart-Photon t-shirt. I was pretty amused.

I also met a nice french girl named Elodie. She was taking pictures of the fish for a painting she's doing. She does illustrations for kids' books and is also a writer. She was really nice, and we talked about her maybe doing some illustrations for Pete's book. :)

After the aquarium, I went to the Louvre to shoot the sunset, but it was pretty unimpressive, what with the thick layer of clouds blotting out everything. But I got some pictures of the lit windows of the Louvre and stuff that might be pretty.

And now I really have to crash. I'm totally exhausted. Did NOT sleep at all well last night. I went to bed at 8pm and then woke up at 11:30, 1:30, 3:30, 4:30, and 5:30, which is when I got up. And those are only the times that I woke up and was alert enough to look at the clock and lie there for a while waiting to go back to sleep. I tossed and turned the rest of the time, waking up constantly. So I'm really surprised I'm still conscious right now, and I still have to brush my teeth. I'm way too tired to eat dinner. Last time I ate today was quiche lorraine for breakfast at 8am. Don't do that, btw. Quiche Lorraine is waaaay too rich to have for breakfast. You'd think with all the exercise and actually eating less, I'd be losing weight, wouldn't you? Legs and ass of steel from the Parisian Stairmaster? Yeah, no. I've actually gained. FAT. As in, inches. :( I could weep. My jeans actually fit worse now than they did when I got here, and I discovered whatever day it was I went to Sacre Coeur that I have a frigging *roll*. Did I mention the weeping? :( I'm beginning to wonder if my body just really wants to weigh what it does, which sucks. But all my life, I'd stay a certain weight for years, and then just suddenly put 10 or 15 on, and it would stay. I needed the weight then, however. Now, not so much. As in NOT. At all. Nyet, nein, non, nuh-uh, negative, negatory, nix. But anyway. Bed calls.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1