the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Aug. 04, 2007 - 10:34 p.m.

I've decided to streamline and declutter/decrapify my life. I'm tired of collecting things I never really use. They just get in the way and make it harder to find the things I do use. Not to mention trying to stay organized and neat. So get over to my bookshelf at Bookcrossing and speak up for what you want real quick, like. I'm getting rid of all of it in the next month. There's just too damn much stuff cluttering up this house and my space, and I can't take it any more. If it doesn't mean something personal to me or isn't a book I love or need, it's going buh-bye.

Isn't cancer fun?

Granted, I don't know that I have it, but when you're looking at the possibility of it for the second time in 15 freaking years, you kinda take a look at what just isn't working about your life anymore. And part of what isn't working for me is the mess. I just have too much stuff, and no place to put it. And I don't want to spend any more time cleaning or packing or moving boxes from one place to another than I have to. I'm tired of it. Likewise, I don't want to deal with crap in my life that doesn't matter, anymore. I've spent too many years putting up with other people's shit, doing stuff because it was important to other people (ie. employers), and frankly, I've had it. I just don't want to do it anymore. (Anymore is apparently a very big word in this post...) Which means I'd better find a way to take care of myself that isn't dependent on assholes just because they sign my paycheck, which means I simply don't have time to keep putting myself and my future off any longer. Life is too fucking short.

It really is, those of you my loyal friends who are yet whippersnappers in the world. You still think you have all the time in the world, because a) that's human nature, and b) it appears that you do. You have at least 80 years ahead of you in which to mess around and find yourselves and do dumb things, etc. etc. etc. Except that you don't. You only have around 20. And that 20 goes by in a flash. Oh, sure, while you're in it, it ebbs and flows, and a great deal of the time seems to be going by painfully slowly, especially when times are less than optimally fun. But when you are 40 and look back at your college years, they will seem like they were just yesterday. Five years, at the most. And you will realize with a shudder that they were 20 years ago. And that Star Wars - or whatever passes for it in your life - was 30 years ago. And that every year goes by faster and faster than the one before it. And if you aren't doing what you love, my beautiful peeps, you are not going to enjoy that wake up call, when it comes. So take your time. Enjoy your coffee, stop and smell the roses, have fun. And then figure out how to make fun a daily part of your life, but not at the expense of following your dreams and sticking to your path. And never, ever let other people's bullshit come between you and your dreams, my lovelies. Don't sacrifice what you want for the sake of a paycheck. Do the mundane things you have to to get where you're going, but only if they actually enable you to get there, and don't lose sight of who you really are and where you want to be. Because it really is painfully easy to do so without realizing you have or are.

And before you think that's me thinking there's something wrong talking, it is, and it isn't. I've been feeling that way for a long time. It's just that now, I'm motivated to get off my ass and do something about it, what with the realizing that I might not have as much time as I thought to keep goofing off. Inside my head, I'm still 25, you see. With 60+ years to get things done. It goes by just that fast.

So help me get rid of some books, will ya? :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1