the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Mar. 04, 2007 - 4:47 p.m.

What up, yo? Yeah? Coo' dat. Oh, me? Bronchitis, baby. And it sucks.

It does, however, have the added benefit of the pity factor, so I got to spend my week watching the asstool get payback from my coworker, who has apparently had just about enough of his shit and isn't shy about layin' a little smackdown where due. I have to say it's been rather karmically satisfying.

Aside from that, I got nothin' else. I skipped work Monday because I felt crummy, but by Tuesday, I was fever free and back at work, albeit with a little bit of a cough and a sore throat on one side. That spent the week escalating, until by Friday, I had laryngitis and a 500 pound gorilla sitting on my chest, occasionally making breathing really difficult. So I left work at 6:11 Friday to see a doctor, who told me it's viral bronchitis. She gave me scrips for Allegra, Flonase (which I can't use until this clears up, or it could cause infection), an Albuterol inhaler, and antibiotics, just in case I start running a fever or feel noticeably rundown and crappy, at which point, I'm to start taking it and come back to see her. Unfortunately, she forgot to write me the scrip for cough syrup she mentioned, and I forgot to get it from her, on accounta my cough not being all THAT terrible, so I followed her instructions and got a humidifier (which helps) and more Mucinex (which I doubled up on per her, which also helps), and spent another $120 on drugs (bringing the total for doc, humidifier and drugs to $250), and went home and got in bed...and promptly developed the worst nighttime cough known to man. Seriously, I'm fine until I lay down. I have some coughing, but nothing too horrendous. But lie down, and jumpin' Jeebus on a pogo stick, my body is literally wracked with coughs. I can't stop. I can't sleep. No position is comfortable, nothing will make it stop, and that gorilla I mentioned earlier is back and just goin' to town. I swear to you people, my chest is a Samsonite suitcase, and that damn ape is doin' his best to crack it open. After 2 nights of that, even sitting up during the day today my chest feels hot and backed with bricks. Still no fever, though. Which bums me out on a few levels, not the least of which is that fever is what tends to kill a virus, so no fever, god alone knows how long this is going to last, and the last time I had bronchitis was 5th grade, when it lasted well over 6 months. Though I am happy to say this bronchial experience is so far MUCH more pleasant than that one, which involved a LOT of chest pain and copious amounts of green stuff.

Ew.

But I digress. The point was, I forgot to get a scrip for cough syrup, and now that my cough actually warrants it, I can't get a scrip for some without either waiting until Friday when the doc is back in the office (what kind of doctor only works one day a week???), or paying an additional $110 for a second office visit just so some yahoo with a medical degree can listen to my chest and go, "Yep, you got a cough, all right, here's a prescription for some cough syrup."

Jeez O. Pete.

I hate being sick, peeps. And this is definitely sick. :( And also, apparently, bronchitis really takes a chunk outta your spelling skills, because I have misspelled no fewer than 8 words in the last 15 seconds. :(

I'm sorry I don't have any fun stuff to tell you guys. Work takes up pretty much all my time, and the 3 hours a night it doesn't are spent on such scintillating activities as laundry. And dishes. Or web design.

I have been taking part in a Flickr group called 365, and that's still going, but not since I got really sick, because I don't have the energy for it. But I look forward to resuming it as soon as I do feel better. And here's the last image I took for it. I titled it Snow White.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Okay. Back to the sick room.

Peace out,

Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1