the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Jun. 08, 2007 - 2:12 a.m.

I am nothing if not obsessive, so let's talk more about BookCrossing, shall we? :)

I find it interesting that the US leads the rest of the BC-participating countries in number of books released, and in the US, California kicks the snot out of any other state. In the last 30 days, 13,964 books have been released in the United States. Does that mean we read more, buy more, share more, or all of the above? The next closest country at the moment is Germany, with 5,275. The UK is right behind them, with 5,169, and if you'd like to know who rounds out the top 5, it's the Netherlands (2,222) and Australia (1,647). Canada, you guys are #6, with 1,560. (Italy is giving you a run for your money, though: 1,231.) Reader, how 'bout you do your part to up that Canuckistani pride. You must have tons of books floating around you don't want anymore. ;)

As I said, California kicks alla y'all's asses. We've released 1,535 books in the last 30 days...almost as many as all of Canada. :) The state closest to us in releases is Washington (837), followed by Kansas (725...get down with your bad selves, Kansans!), Florida (628), and New York (625)...better get a move on, Florida; NY is fixin' ta whup ya. ;)

The states least likely to share? Wyoming (a measley 8), Delaware (9, and none of those in the last 3 days), and South Dakota (12, also none in the last 3, but at least SD has the fact that it's mostly unpopulated working in its favor).

Texas, you guys have released 488 in the last 30 days, but considering you're like the second most highly populated state now, that's just shameful. And I can say that, coz I come from there. So get on it, hosers.

I wanted to release a bunch today, but I was under the weather most of the day and didn't get around to it. I'm hoping to tomorrow, though. :) I think I'll drop one at the post office, and a couple on the free books shelf at the library, and if I can get to Follow Your Heart, I'll drop one there. :) You are hereby cordially invited to join me at BookCrossing. :)

I still can't find who wanted the Pink Carnation book. I just spent over an hour searching my archives. Sorry!

I started work on Pete's book last night, dummying pages in Fireworks. I can't decide if it's going to be easier to just dummy each page electronically, or if I should print pictures out and do it that way. Hmmm... Elodie, who is doing Pete's illustrations, is hard at work on her latest book. The pictures are very cute, and the scan she sent me included text, which is in english. I look forward to buying it. :) Then hopefully the 3 other little books she did 10 years ago will finally be published. They were weeks away from it before, when the creative director of the publishing house was fired or quit, and all his/her projects got canned. :( Poor Elodie was left with galleys. :( Those books are really, really cute. I love her illustrations and am really glad she likes Pete and wants to work on his book. :) She will be in the States in September, so I look forward to seeing her. :)

Hey, are you guys aware that the 63rd anniversary of the allied invasion at Normandy (D-Day) was Wednesday? I saw absofreakinglutely nothing about it in the news all day that day. What the heck was that about??? :(

Okay, I'm tired. I need to crash. :) I hope everyone has a very fun weekend. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1