the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, May. 02, 2007 - 3:08 a.m.

Oo, look at that: shiny new template. :) I figured since I'm not actually in Paris anymore, I really needed a new look. Plus, I was kinda bored with the old layout. Now I just wish I could figure out how to make the right column float and then why the rainbow box is like 2 pixels high. :(

The pirate interview people called today, and I got the job. It's shocking, the tiny little pittance I will be working for, but at least I will have full benefits, and it's not television. Still, it hurts. I had to fax over all my retail experience, because the company pays a quarter more an hour for every year of retail you have, but even though I've owned my own retail business for 4 years AND managed a video sales and rental store (in addition to a couple of other retail jobs, for a grand total of 9.5 years, I still only got a 50 cent bump. That really is excruciating, but it was nice of the non-pirate girl to try and get me more, and I really appreciate it. And who knows - maybe California will raise the minimum wage, and I'll get another quarter. Miracles do happen.

It's painful to go from $800 or more a week to $320 at the most. And no, I'm not joking. How the hell do they expect anyone in this country to afford the business of living on the joke that is minimum wage in this country? Seriously, no one in this country should ever have to work for less than $10 an hour. Especially not when frigging gas costs over $3.50 a gallon. I just keep telling myself that I will finally frigging have health insurance and the time AND energy to work on my book, as well as my own websites. I have to go in for orientation with the GM on Thursday, and that should prove "fun," because the one time I had contact with him, he was really kind of a schmuck. Maybe he's a really nice guy who was just having a bad day, but I wanted to snap at him that I was a fully grown adult woman and not to treat me like I was some clueless 19 year old. That was the one cool thing about working in tv. Kids don't usually work in the industry except as execs or actors, so when you have a supervisor who's a jerk, at least he/she tends to talk to you like you're an actual adult, not some inexperienced teenager. That, and sometimes the paychecks really rule.

And craft service. I will miss craft service. My ass will not, however.

So tomorrow, I have to go buy some blouses to wear to work. I'm pretty sure big chain bookstore will not let me report to work in jeans and a t-shirt. Though one of the big chains does, I think this one does not. Alas.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Arrr, matey, shiver me hamsters!




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1