the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Jun. 26, 2003 - 1:56 a.m.

Hola, gang -

I have discovered starting one's own business takes a lot of energy.

I have also re-entered the wonderful world of television production, albeit temporarily. I use the word wonderful with a great deal of good-natured sarcasm. Just so you know.

The family thing has worked itself out - again, albeit temporarily - in that I am not speaking to anyone but my mom and cousin. I did receive phone calls in which certain persons backpedalled furiously on my answering machine AND my voice mail, but in an effort to concentrate on things more important, I have decided not to deal with it or return the call.

Here's a random factoid, for those of you who might be interested: By and large, people who agree to appear in reality television are not the brightest bulbs on the float. They are also easily manipulated - which is why they are chosen - and frequently those people who look like schmucks in the finished product are not actually schmucks, and vice versa those who look like really nice people. Although, most of the time, people do tend to be pretty much what they seemed. I wish I could give specific examples, but they make you sign a pesky little document called a non-disclosure agreement which carries with it MAJOR penalties for breakage, and I prefer my life in the hellish shape it currently is, without a court case on top of it. So we will have to make due with generalities.

Speaking of reality television - and especially that form of it having to do with romance, I would like to boldly state once and for all to those of you who might decided to compete for a significant other in this fashion that everything does NOT happen for a reason, destiny has NOTHING to do with whether or not you are chosen, EVERYTHING you do or say is fair game, and NOT A SINGLE THING happens randomly - it is all carefully planned out, orchestrated, or egged on by the puppetmasters known as the producers. Which creatures, I might add, do NOT have your best interests at heart, and are utterly lacking in ethics and personal integrity. Given their designs, they will do their damnedest to either make you look like an incredible saint or the biggest loser/jerk/moron on the planet. Do not cry on reality television. Do not gush on reality television. Do not brag about yourself or anything you think you are good at, and do not make any kind of bold claims or sweeping statements that can later be turned around on you when taken out of context or after you fall flat on your face. Because my friends, you will fall flat on your face, and that statement you made because you were asked to will come back to bite you on the ass. EVERYTHING you say can be turned into a sound bite, and you would do well to remember it.

Anyway. If you ever find yourself on a "reality" program, bear that in mind.

I actually had more stuff to talk about, but I'm pretty tired, and I have some work to do, so I gotta get to it. Have a good. I'll try not to stay away so long again.

Oh - and one other thing: do NOT do monkey impressions on tape. (And remember, it *all* ends up on tape.)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Your reality, sir, is lies and balderdash, and I'm delighted to say that I have no grasp of it whatsoever.




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1