the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Dec. 29, 2002 - 2:48 a.m.

Shit.

I had a nice long entry written, and then I fucking hit the clear button on this fucking mac, thinking it would act as a fucking backspace, but nooooooooooo, it fucking erased my entire fucking entry, and I am back to square fucking one.

I hate macs.

And I am not going thru all that again.

Suffice to say I am totally stoked Christmas is finally freaking over, and that in less than a week, I can go back to my nice normal life, free and devoid of holidays.

Hoofuckingrah. I kid you not, people, I damn near became a statistic this year. You know those people you read the numbers on who grow horribly despondent and off themselves in desperation during the joyous Christmas holidays? One of them. It was not pretty, people. I can identify with those Statistic People, now. I understand why the hell someone takes a gun to his/her head during the Season of Never-Fucking-Ending Good Cheer, and believe you me, it is NOT pretty. So I am relieved and happy the whole sordid mess is behind me. That being said, I hope all of you had merry Christmasses or Diwali or Hannukkah, and that your Kwanza is or was pleasant, and that you have a safe and happy New Year's Eve.

I Got Presents, I Got Goodies; I Got Good Stuff, Who Could Ask for Anything More?
I *did* get a totally cool and expensive as hell Minolta camera and all the accoutrements from my mom, which I am totally stoked over, and a few other goodies besides, but I'm not launching into them again, so that's that. Except to mention the really cool plant encyclopedia the boyfriend game me, the Book That Is So Heavy You Could Kill a Man With It If You Dropped It On His Head.

The "Other" Festival of Lights
Have you guys heard about this whole Diwali thing? It's pretty neat. It's the Hindu Festival of Lights, and it's way prettier-sounding than the Jewish one. (no offense meant) Diwali lasts 5 days, so I'm pretty relieved I'm not Hindu right about now, because 2 days was bad enough for me; I shudder to think of 8. (Bygones) The guys that work in the big soul-sucking gas station where I score my Hostess products are all Hindi, and I asked about what their big holiday was, and the guy that is always smiling and friendly and calls me "my friend" said that it's Diwali, so I went and looked it up, and it sounds pretty nice. You should read up on it and be aware, so you can give your Hindu friends candles and confections next Diwali; they will probably be really touched and stoked that you bothered to read up on it. I have it bookmarked on the laptop at home, but I'm down in San Diego right now, so I don't have the cool sites I found with me...lemme see what I can turn up here...

Here are some recipes for Diwali sweets. And a few more, plus some info on the celebrations and legends behind the holiday. This is a pretty comprehensive site about the holiday, and this site is pretty simple, but it's kinda heavy in pop-ups, which are the scourge of my surfing experience, so read at your own risk, lessin' you have one'a them there pop-up stoppers. There's a free version on that page, which is what I use, though now that they can stop those "smart" ads, I think I'll upgrade to the real deal.

All right, that's it for now. It's too hard to write this stuff from someone else's computer.

Happy New Year, just in case I don't get back here before then.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

"What does this song mean? My whole life, I don't know what this song means.
Does it mean we should remember people we've forgotten? & if so, how can we remember them if we've forgotten?
"Well, maybe it just means we should remember that we've forgotten them."



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1