the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Oct. 10, 2006 - 3:12 p.m.

I just realized - on accounta I got curious, so looked to see - that this diary turned 3 two days ago. Happy Birthday, katiedoyle dot diaryland dot com. :) I am very happy to say my blog writing has gotten less pretentious in the last 3 years, though not any less political. Politics are a big part of my adult life, so that's not surprising. I do wish it didn't push away some of my readers, though, because some of them are very nice people, despite their conservative voting habits. In case you're curious, the page of this diary most-viewed? The very first Golfzilla entry.

My left knee feels better today, in that it will actually hold my weight. I woke up in the middle of the night last night, and it wouldn't, so that fact that it will now is a big step, if you'll pardon the pun. I didn't try to go down the steps, though. I figured it was better not to push it. It's going to be interesting when I go back to Notre Dame and have to descend the many, many steps from the tower again. I think I will save that for a while. :(

I still have so much ground to cover before I leave. I really should go to Versailles and the Louvre. And there are a couple of other museums I'd like to go to that I didn't see last time, too. The Rodin museum and that for Old Montmartre. This coming Sunday, I'm going to Giverny with Marie-Pierre, if the weather is nice. She's at Cannes (I could just die, that's so damn cool), and gets back Friday, I would imagine fairly late. But she consented to go to Giverny, which I think will require driving, so that's very nice of her and I'll have to give her gas money, I think. It's only fair. She drove to Vaux-le-Vicomte twice AND all the way to the Loire Valley with me last time, and I would have given her gas money then, had I had it. So I really think I should give her money this time, for sure. She's a nice person. :) And I wonder how much money it costs to fill a tank here? Do you think 50 euros will cover it? Hm.

So, like, I just did a google search to find out the price of gas in Paris, and it turns out that Paris Hilton pumps her own gas. Which for some reason The Superficial thinks is a mock-worthy scream. I personally think Paris' ridiculously gigantic Dame Edna sunglasses are far more mock-worthy than the fact that she pumps her own gas. Frankly, I'm rather astonished Paris Hilton actually knows how to work a gas pump OR where the gas cover is on her gigantic, sun-blotting SUV, but she does. Maybe she's not as useless or stupid as she comes off. But I wouldn't hold my breath on that point. And I still don't know how much gas is here.

I listened to a podcast of The Bat Segundo Show* earlier today which starred Pamela Ribon (say ribbon) of Pamie.com, Why Girls Are Weird, Why Moms Are Weird, and a whole host of other accomplishments, not the least of which include running her first marathon a few weeks ago. Pam is the most accomplished person I know, and even better, she totally deserves all of her achievements, because not only is she a good person, but she works damned hard. Seriously harder than anyone else I know. And she sticks with a thing. Unlike me and a few other people I know in my life, she does not stay with it until she grows tired and then just leaves it. She sees it through. She has determination in spades, and she Gets Shit Done. I have long admired Pam and wish I'd gotten to know her better when we worked together for a while, because she's one of the people I would be really glad to have in my circle. People like that, their motivation and determination rub off on you. They make you aspire to be better at everything, because you can see that hard work does pay off.

* I wish to stress that I find the gimmicky beginning of TBSS unbefreakinglievably annoying. I promise he does not maintain that hideous affectation once he actually begins the interview. I'm sorry, however, that you will have to sit through like 2 full minutes of the atrocity. For this, I am profoundly sorry.

And as a side note, I really enjoyed Why Girls Are Weird. It was an odd experience reading it, because Pam's voice was extremely evident in the language, so it was strangely intimate reading it, and that's an experience I'd never had while reading a book. It's very well-written, with the same dry, sarcastic humor Pam has, and has an actually believable heroine who does actually believable things. You feel like you could know Anna K., that she could conceivably walk the same streets you do, which I think few writers really manage to convey. At least in an accessible way. Pam's characters are all accessible. I haven't gotten to read Why Moms Are Weird yet, because it came out just before I left for here, and I was hoarding money like Lone Star beer^. But when I get back, I'm definitely buying a copy. :)

^ I tried to find a webpage that would explain this reference, but sadly, none exists. That's really kind of a tragedy, because it was a really good ad campaign, but the more Texan among you will probably get it, and the rest of you will just have to go with it. Sorry!

And with that, I think I'm done. I need to crash again. At the moment, my sleep is such that I'm awake until about 5:30 in the afternoon, then I crash for a couple of hours, get up, mess around on the web and watch some tv, then crash again around 3:30 or 5am and get up at 8:30. Hopefully that will hold, and the weather will stay sunny, too.

Peace out,
Katie

ps. british soap operas are even worse than american ones, and frankly, i think that's really saying something. they're really quite abominable, in every single way. po, kd

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

It's all them hoarders!
*
I know about the armadillo! I know about the armadillo!



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1