the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Dec. 18, 2004 - 1103423716

I would like to take a moment and sing a song for the unsung hero(es) here at Diaryland, Andrew (and Sammy).

Andrew works hard to make sure Diaryland runs smoothly. He saves us from the horrors of spam in our comments sections, deals with server crashes in the middle of the night, handles network problems with the best of 'em, and even replaces your template when you've been fiddling around on the templates page (right after you first start using Dland) and manage to delete all or part of it. And on top of that, he works it out so we can have neat little features like RSS feeds. Andrew is a cool dude.

I see people who bitch from time to time about Diaryland. They sometimes pick up and leave for some place they perceive as better, because they feel Andrew has, in some way, let them down.

Poppycock.

I think those people who cruise off mumbling disgruntledly under their breath just have unrealistic expectations. When something goes wrong with your one little diary among all the others here, you can not expect to have it fixed immediately. That's just the way it is. I can only really speak from personal experience, but I have to say that I have experienced very few screw ups, and probably most of the ones I have were due to my own mistakes, but when I have reported them to Andrew, they've been fixed more quickly than I expected, every single time. Even on a weekend, like this one. I know one or two people who cruised off, and they're reasonable human beings, so I'm sure they had legitimate gripes (don't get pissed, dear friends, please), but I also know several who stormed off in a fit of pique after actively bitching about Diaryland for months, and I pretty much feel like if that's your deal, go, then. Either you've outgrown a hub site and need your own site, where you can pull your hair out over all the admin stuff you'll have to do for yourself, now, or you just have unrealistic expectations...either way, you're probably a huge thorn in Andrew's side, anyway.

I don't know how many diaries Diaryland has, but I know it's a helluva lot. And a helluva lot of those are Gold & Supergold members. And we all want our little problems fixed rightfreakingnow whenever something goes wrong, and not all of us are tolerant of the fact that there are a lot of us and only one of him. A him who doesn't make a huge amount of money off of this endeavor either, when you consider how much work it is and the fact that if we were a company and he were our IT guy, he'd probably be making bank. Or, you know, all the bank an IT guy makes. Which to me is a pretty tidy sum, but then, I do not make anything even close to the curb outside the bank, so anybody on the bank side of the curb is doing GREAT, in my opinion. Maybe he'd just be hovering around outside the door, near the ATM, but the point is, even though we work him overtime a fair amount of the time, Andrew is not making bank off of Diaryland, but he still works hard at keeping it running smoothly and us happy. He fixes my problems, fixes my screw ups, addresses my issues, and protects me from spam.

I love Andrew. Long may he wave. Or, you know, live.

Andrew, you're the bomb. Thanks for the place and the help. Merry Christmas, dude. You deserve it. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1