the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Jun. 26, 2006 - 11:32 p.m.

I crossed off all the stuff on yesterday's post of today's to-do list that actually got done. I also went to the bank. Basically the camera took up most of my day. And I'm not getting the one I thought I was getting, because apparently it's so whacked that Canon yanked it off the market. Which does not bode well for my newly repaired and returned to me A70, because the same reason I had to send it to Canon for repairs is the same reason Canon yanked the A620 from the shelves...the LCD screen and connector. Which are made by Sony, because apparently, Canon does not really consider itself an electronics company, so despite making pretty much everything else inside their cameras, they do not make the LCD stuff. Which is a bummer, because I love Canon, while the only thing I really like about Sony is their stereos and vcr's, which are good low to mid-range buys that last. Their LCD connectors, on the other hand...not so much. But at one of the stores I was in, I had the awesome good fortune to run into a kid who knows his way around digital cameras, and he recommended to me the Canon Powershot SD550 Elph. He knew his stuff, and they don't sell it at that store, so it's not like he was looking to score any kudos other than helping out a fellow shutterbug, and from what I find on the web, everything he said has been verified. Plus, he said Canon finally solved the LCD issue with the Elph, so I feel good about spending the money, and later in the week (hopefully by Wednesday), I'll be heading out to pick one up. :) Thank you, Ryan, for saving me the heartache I would have gotten from a faulty A620. :)

I went to buy socks and underwear and discovered neither of those things were available in the correct size/brand, so now I have to range further afield, which is normally not so bad, but time is at such a premium right now, I confess to a great deal of angst over the matter. I got a ton of dental gear and made my appointment, though, so there's that, at least...July 5 is my torture day. Why must there be tooth pain? WHY?

At the post office, there was this total tool pitching a hissy fit because - despite all the signage he apparently figured did not apply to him, and thus, ignored - he stood in the wrong damn line to get a passport for his 16 year old daughter and was therefore too late to make the cut-off time for passport applications at that particular post office. He could not be bothered to get back in his damn beemer and head over to the Sherman Way post office 10 miles and half an hour away, because he had taken the day off from work to take care of this, so they were just going to have to accommodate him at the Clarendon post office. He brutalized the lobby postal workers, the customers standing in line in the very crowded lobby, the people who were already standing in line at the pick-up/passport window (whom he cut in front of when he discovered he should have been waiting there, instead of the lobby line), BOTH of the window workers, one of whom wasn't having any of his shit, and those of us out in the foyer waiting in line to use the automated postmaster or access our mailboxes. Seriously, there is not a person in that entire building who does not know this dick took off work today to get his 16 year old daughter a passport they are in a hurry to get because they are going overseas for vacation, and apparently, dickcheese doesn't manage his time any better than he can frigging read. The entire time I was in the building - about 20 minutes - I had to listen to this useless asshole harangue at the very stoic window worker, and for the first time in my entire life, I wanted to stand up and cheer for the implacable, immovable cogs of government bureaucracy, because it was beautiful, beautiful karma listening to that postal worker repeat over and over that Sherman Way was open until 9, and he could go get the passport there if it was that important to him, but that the United States Postal Service was in no way responsible for his inability to stand in the correct line and the decision to take time off from work today. *I* wanted to ask him why, if he took time off from work, and it was that all-fired important, he was just now getting around to it at 4:00 in the afternoon, and then to follow that with a big ol' cup of shut the hell up; none of us gives a shit that you took time off from your very important, busy day to come get your 16 year old daughter a passport. We are sick of hearing you bitch, so suck it the fuck up and move on, you self-important, whiny pain in the ass. It is not the post office's fault that you put off getting the passport until the last fucking moment, or that you chose to take care of it at 4pm on a weekday when you had Saturday to deal with it or today until 3:30. It is not the postman's fault that you didn't bother to read and do not have the sense God gave a turnip, that you actually stood in the lobby line, instead of going to the big open window directly across from the main entrance, over which resides a big blue and white sign which reads "Passport applications". And I'm sure those people who WERE politely and patiently standing in line at that window to pick up packages would all love to kick your ass for your obnoxiously rude behavior and the fact you cut in front of them and are now monopolizing all the time left during which the window is open for pick-up. I myself want to kick your ass for destroying the peaceful sanctity that is usually the post office, forcing me to listen to your shrill, shrieky, whining and the same fucking 3 sentences over and over, as if repeating them into infinity will change the fact that the person who processes the passports is no longer in the building because she went home at 3fucking:30. If I knew which car was yours, I would key it, because the joy I would get from that one action would override the threat of possible bad karma* and would totally screw your week, if not your entire month. And your daughter was just as bitchy as you were, so way to set such a toolish example. And just so you know, YOU were the only ass in that room today. No one thought the postman was the incompetent moron there, YOU were. We all hated YOU. We all thought YOU needed a good swift kick to the 'nads and to grow the fuck up and get over your stupid, toolish little self. Not the postman. So the next time you feel like having a meltdown publically blaming someone else for what is blatantly YOUR FUCKUP, you probably oughtta reconsider. You're the one who looks like an ass. Not the person at whom you are shrieking.

* Okay, look. I would not really key his car. I've never keyed a car in my life, and believe me, I have met plenty of people who deserved to have their cars keyed. But I do not want MY car keyed, so I do not stoop to such unbalanced crap, even when I think someone deserves it...completely shoepolished-in windows, though, THAT I have done. Though it was college, she totally deserved it AND my professor even offered to let me borrow his Christmas tree flocking to finish the job, so it's entirely possible that didn't really count. ;)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1