the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Oct. 03, 2007 - 6:47 p.m.

So, I have been tagged by the illustrious Jonny-C to take part in this little 8 things meme, so here it is. I'll try to do stuff that has nothing to do with my 101 things or 101 more.

Figure 8
First, THE RULES:
1. All right, here are the rules.
2. We have to post these rules before we give you the facts.
3. Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
4. People who are tagged write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
5. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names. Don�t forget to leave them a comment telling them they�re tagged, and to read your blog.

1. I don't believe addiction is a disease, and I have no more patience for people who insist that it is.
What it is, is an excuse. Avoidance. I get your life is miserable, and you want to escape. I get that your childhood was fucked up. I get that life isn't all the sunshine and roses you thought it would be, and you are crushed by the crushing mass of crushing disappointment rampantly crushing all the joy out of life, and if you don't find some way of altering the crushing mindnumbing realities of reality right now, you will put a bullet into your head and be done with it.

You know what? Go for it. Here's the gun. I am tired of watching you do it slowly, drink by fucking drink, every single day, while you whine about how miserable you are and clutch at the people who are close to you so you can drag them down too. Wah. Grow the fuck up and accept your responsibilities. Sometimes life sucks. Sometimes it doesn't. I don't know how you fix it, but I do know that just deciding it's going to be that way, so you might as well drink your time away is fucking stupid and the surest way to guarantee it will pretty much always suck. I get that you want to fill your veins with something that makes you feel better. I really fucking do. But find something that doesn't make you an asshole, asshole. How's about some intestinal fortitude?

2. I'm a lot more blunt in this blog than I am in real life.
I hate to hurt people's feelings, so in real life, I rarely say what I think about much of anything, or I couch it in such a way as to have the least possible amount of impact. That being said, every once in a while, someone in the real world pushes me to the breaking point, and caution pretty much hits the fan, and I say what I really want to say. And then feel sorry or fearful for it later. This actually gets me into trouble, because sometimes I say the wrong thing to the wrong person, and it gets back to someone who holds my livelihood in his hands, and I get fired for my poor judgement. For instance (a very mild example), after a particularly hideous day at work, it was very poor form to remark to a customer who had just handed me a torn book he found on the shelf that I hate people. That guy thought it was funny and chose to remind me that I had said it the next time he came in...right in front of my manager. Luckily, she didn't turn me in, since I could have been fired for it, and that would have been embarrassing.

3. I used to have no such fear of speaking my mind.
I was never mean about it, but neither did I shirk reality if someone asked for my opinion. Then I found out that you inevitably get punished for admitting to assholes who ask, that no, they aren't your favorite person in the entire world, or that no, you don't think they did a particularly outstanding job of painting that wall. Now I just shut up about it and say some variation of "it's fine"...and still manage to piss people off.

4. Like Jonny-C, I forgive, but I do not forget.
I have low self-esteem, so I'm tolerant of a lot of stuff, but if you do something I feel necessitates apology, you'd damn sure better apologize for it and then not do it again. I'll give second chances, but not thirds. Repeated need for apology for the same thing demonstrates a serious lack of consideration on your part. If you apologize but continue to commit the same sin, I mentally and emotionally distance myself from you until such time as I feel I can remove myself totally from you with as little fuss and inconvenience to myself as possible. And I make no apologies for it. I feel a normal human being should learn from his/her mistakes, and someone who can't is just too damaged for me to be hanging out with. It's a matter of survival, nothing personal.

5. If people routinely fail to respect my boundaries and/or take no for an answer, I take passive-aggressive action against them until such time as I can remove them from my life permanently.
I won't even become friends with someone I feel may not adequately grasp this concept. Most of you guys probably already know this about me, but there it is. I don't like it about myself, because I hate passive-aggression, and I feel honestly telling someone, "Look, I don't want to be friends with you anymore," is a much better tack. But people who refuse to respect honesty have no right to expect it. That's just the way it is.

6. I hate, despise, abhor, detest, and otherwise loathe going to the gym with an incensitivity eclipsed only by trips to the dentist or the ob-gyn.
I do not find working out cathartic, relaxing, releasing, or any of the other clicheed crap one is supposed to feel from working out. My endorphins do not spring to being and make me high on life. What I do experience is boring, miserable, hot, sweaty, repetitive, and difficult. Most of the time, I want my size 5 ass back more than I loathe the gym, but not all the time. This makes it really hard to commit to an exercise program.

7. I do not have voice mail on my cell phone.
I'm supposed to have it - it's included in my plan - but for some reason, it does not work, and since one of the things I hate most in all the world is retrieving voice mail, I have chosen not to call my cell phone provider and tell them I need it restored. I can not tell you how liberating it is not to have to pick up messages or be at other people's beck and call(s). Not to mention that since I rarely answer my cell phone (I turn it off when I'm at home or work), people have FINALLY gotten the point that if they want to reach me, they need to leave a message on my home answering machine, just the way we did it back in the olden days. You know: before cell phones made constant connectivity something we're all supposed to be thrilled about. I do not WANT to be constantly available to other people. I need my down time. And no voice mail makes it possible; my cell phone serves ME, not the other way around.

8. I really, really, really want a dog.
But I'm afraid I won't take care of one properly, so I don't have one. I still really want one, though. Very, very badly.

So now I'm supposed to tag 8 people. I don't know 8 people to tag, however, so I'm only tagging 6. There's someone else I would tag, but she's pretty much got her hands full with life right now. And another friend is sort of between blogs, at the moment. Everyone else I think is of the "don't ever tag me" ilk. So here are my chosen victims:

Ann-Frankenstein, who I accidentally spelled Ann-Frankenstien, which would make her Ann-Frahnkenshteen, but no matter; maybe she likes to be called that... :)
Reader1209
Auntie Em, who will probably use MySpace to answer
Metame
OnlyMayDay
Beautiflntmr

You're up, ladies. You know: when you have time. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1