the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Mar. 23, 2007 - 12:26 a.m.

Have a job interview at noon, for an AP position on a show having to do with scents. I have mixed feelings on it because a) it's still television, which I'm actually pretty tired of, b) it's an AP position, which I have not the least bit of interest in, even on the best of days, not giving one single tinker's dam for producing anything, EVER, and c) part of the job description includes dealing with casting, a thing that causes my soul to shriek in horror, and which I have an even greater abhorrence for than I do the thought of producing. But it's literally located just down the street, so my commute will be all of 5 minutes, which is unheard of in LA. The only way it could possibly be a shorter commute is if it were 2 doors down the street, so that is awesome. And if the show is picked up for the back 9, I can possibly parlay the position into a story editor gig, since the other part of the position entails coming up with stories for the show. That could be cool. So even though the money's the same as logging money and the least I've worked for in over a year and a half, I'm getting up and putting on makeup and an actual blouse (as opposed to a t-shirt) tomorrow to go and sit in an office and tell some guy who will probably clearly see through it that I would LOOOOOOOOVE the chance to work on his little show and make sure guests show up on time after I've called to talk them into appearing on a reality tv show. Because that's just the way I roll, yo. And, you have to do that for every single gig you apply for in this town, if you want to work. And also, it could turn out to be something I actually enjoy. One never knows until one tries.

God, that was so Pollyanna, I think my soul just threw up a little.

You may have figured out I'm pms'g.

BTW? It was supremely nice sleeping in, messing around, enjoying the weather, and not going to work, but knowing I was getting paid for it, just the same. :)

I cracked down over the weekend and bought a bathroom scale so I can monitor just how large my ass is getting, which sounds really negative, but trust me, the only thing that will keep me from eating stuff I am not supposed to be eating is the knowledge that I weigh 160 pounds, and my ass is the size of Wisconsin. So I bought a nice shiny chrome and black rubber scale which worked perfectly fine in the store, but when I got it home and took the plastic wrap off of it inexplicably weighed me at least 5 pounds under what I know to be my actual weight. So when I weigh myself, I have to mentally add 5 lbs. to the number. But I seem to have already lost 4 lbs, so that is nifty cool and keen. :)

I pre-ordered Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows today, so that I can get it the day it comes out and not risk some idiot blurting out to me before I've had the chance to read it who dies and who does not and whether or not Snape is evil and Sirius or Dumbledore returns (I am not entirely convinced Sirius is actually dead, and frankly, I think that mirror he gave Harry in Book 5 is relevant and will come back into play) or anything else it will utterly spoil the book to learn ahead of time, so I have ordered and will be in line to pick it up the very second it is permissable to do so, even if that means arriving at Borders to cue up at 9pm on a Friday night for a book that will go on sale at approximately midnight, and then I will be shutting myself in for the entire weekend of July 21, so those of you who are thinking of asking me to go and do anything with you can just forget it. I will be completely incommunicado until every last word of that book is done, so that nobody, but nobody, can ruin it for me. :)

And actually, I will be very sorry to see the last of Mr. Potter. I have grown quite fond of him over the last 7 years or so. I hope Ron asks Hermione to marry him, and Harry works things out with his beloved, because frankly, I like a romantic happy ending. I also harbor the secret wish that Harry will become at the very least a teacher at Hogwart's, and frankly, I think he'd make a *smashing* Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, but mayhap our young hero has a bit of growing up to do first. It all depends on how much he matures through the last book. And holy smokes, I have obviously put too much thought into a book series. I need to go do something active now. Or at least less geeky.

I am moving all of my other blogs - my photoblog, my dragonfly blog, and another I run professionally - over to Wordpress in the near future, btw. I can no longer take Google's crap. Despite my always being logged into my frigging Google account, if I want to do *anything* on Blogger - post, comment, manage comments - I have to frigging re-log in every single time. And Google forced me to sign up for yet another service and change my user id to an email address to continue using my blogger blogs, and frankly, the last thing I need is to have to remember yet another password and to have to type in 10 extra characters every single time I need to log in...which is every single time I try to do anything using the service. I didn't want a Google account. If I wanted a Google account, I'd HAVE a Google account. I didn't. What I had was a blogger account. To which I could stay logged in indefinitely. Which, frankly, simplified my life to a degree I was really freaking happy to take for granted. That's why certain things I could not do here at Diaryland, I did there. I enjoyed the ease with which I could make hyperlinks. I enjoyed being able to upload images with impunity. Sure, the function 90% of the time did not work properly and was a pain to circumnavigate, but I could do it without having to pay for a gold account, and I got comments without springing for supergold. I am happy to do those things here because I love Diaryland and my Diaryland family, and I don't mind giving Andrew my money, because he always sees to my woes quickly and efficiently, unlike Blogger, which sends you half a dozen snarky f'g emails asking you if you've read the FAQ before they will even *think* about addressing your issue...which they do by telling you to read the FAQ. So I will continue hosting "Katie Doyle, Girl About Town" here for practically forever, because I appreciate the polite service I get at Diaryland. Blogger, otoh, I have no such fondness for. So I am currently poking around with a free blog over at Wordpress, learning the service and figuring out whether or not I like it, and then I am importing all of my Blogger stuff to there, because frankly? Google? Kiss my big old Wisconsin-sized butt. ::sigh::

Okay. I should probably go to bed, now. I'm sorry I haven't gotten caught up on your blog, yet. I'm still revelling (reveling?) in newfound freedom.

Peace out,
Katie

ps. it's almost Easter, when I can once again drink Diet Coke with impunity. yaaaaay!

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1